Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Business Risk Management Review Committee


Arden Schenkenberger has been involved in numerous provincial and national crop and beef organizations on boards, executives, and committees. He is active in the local community and has been a member in good standing of the Ontario Institute of Algologists since 1982.


James Gowland operates approximately 2000 acres of corn, soybeans, dry beans, and wheat in southern Bruce County. His full-time farming career began in 1977. Mr. Gowland's farm organization involvement began in 1983 and currently he is Chair of the Ontario Bean Growers and Treasurer of Farm and FoodCare Ontario. In the past, Mr. Gowland was Director and Vice President of Ontario Soybean Growers, Director of Grain Growers of Canada, and Founder and Chair of the Canadian Soybean Council.


Gerald Rollins is the Director of Beef Farmers of Ontario, the Board of Directors representing the cow-calf sector. Prior to this, he was the Director of the Farm and Food Care Ontario Board of Directors. Mr. Rollins' community involvement has included being former Director of the Renfrew County Federation of Agriculture, founding member and former Director of the Muskrat Watershed Council, and former Director of the County Cattlemens Association. Mr. Rollins holds a Master of Business Administration degree in Agriculture from the University of Guelph.


has been a full-time, self-employed farmer since 1976. He graduated from the University of Guelph with a B.Sc.Agr. degree in 1976, from the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program in 1997 and was a Canadian Nuffield Scholar in 2004. Mr. Wales is currently an executive member of the board of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture and has been a board member since 1995. He has been the President of the Garlic Growers' Association of Ontario since 2004. Mr. Wales is presently on the board of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers' Association, chairs the Safety Nets Committee, is an executive member of the Canadian Agricultural Human Resources Sector Council, and is a director on the Elgin County Stewardship Council.


Markus Wand is a self-employed Owner/Operator of Wand Family Farm. His community involvement includes serving as a Counselor for the Municipality of Powassan. Markus holds a B.Sc.Agr (Hon) from the University of Guelph.


Kim Sytsma is a Farm Manager at Eighth Line Farm and a Farm Labourer at Meadowlands. Her community involvement has included serving as a Director for Beef Farmers of Ontario Cow/calf Committee and Ontario Farm Animal Counc


Tonya Haverkamp is a Farm Manager at RJ Steel Farm. Her community involvement includes serving as a Zone 6 Delegate and Zone 7 Pullet Counselor for Egg Farmers of Ontario.


Patrick Jilesen has been involved in many agricultural organizations throughout Ontario. He volunteers in his local community with his children's local hockey team. Mr. Jilesen has a strong leadership role in his community as past president of the Bruce County Federation of Agriculture and currently a board director with the Ontario Federation of Agriculture. Mr. Jilesen also represents his community as a member of the Grey/Bruce ALUS Project Advisory Committee, is a regular contributor to economic development advisory committees in his local community and maintains a strong commitment to community growth.