Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Ontario Health


Bill Hatanaka serves as a corporate and public sector director. He is the Board Chair for Ontario Health and serves on the board of ICE NGX Canada and Invesco Canada. Prior to this, Mr. Hatanaka served as the Group head of Wealth management, TD Bank Group and as a member of the Bank’s Senior Executive Team. He also served as the inaugural Chair of the Bank’s Diversity Leadership Council. Mr. Hatanaka has served on several public boards including the TMX (Chair HRC, Derivatives Committee), and TD Ameritrade (Risk Committee). He is the past Chair of the Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) and is an Honorary Governor for York University.


Elyse Allan is an accomplished executive with experience in driving growth, technology, and innovation. She recently retired as President and Chief Executive Officer of GE Canada and Vice President of the GE Company where she led a multi-billion dollar digital, manufacturing and industrial services company Ms. Allan currently serves as a director of Brookfield Asset Management. She is a fellow of the C.D. Howe Institute, member of its National Advisory Council, a Director of MaRS Discovery District and Chairs the Tuck Business School Board of Advisors. Previously, she served on the Board of Directors of the Conference Board of Canada, The Royal Ontario Museum, the Business Council of Canada and Chaired Providence Healthcare. Ms. Allan was appointed to the Order of Canada for her work championing scientific literacy, particularly among girls.


Lynda Hawton Kitamura, a Chartered Professional Accountant and member of the Institute of Corporate Directors, is an experienced executive with extensive financial and operational expertise as well as national and international experience in the technology sector. Her tenure at Hewlett Packard Company in a worldwide vice-president role provided her strong background in mergers, acquisitions, and strategy development in both large multinational and start-up businesses. Ms. Hawton Kitamura is currently Chair of the Board of Governors of Wilfrid Laurier University and an advisor to Bialogics Analytics.


Adalsteinn Brown is a Professor and Dean at University of Toronto, and a former Director for Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation at University of Toronto. Adalsteinn’s community involvement includes serving as Board Chair for Ontario SPOR Support Unit, and various volunteer roles for Health Quality Ontario.


Paul Tsaparis is a former Vice President for Technology Support at Hewlett-Packard Company, and a former President and CEO for Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Company. His community involvement includes serving as Chair of the Board of Governors at York University, and as Executive in Residence for Schulich School of Business at York University. Paul also serves on the boards of Teranet, Indspire and Metrolinx.


Major General Jean-Robert Bernier was Canada’s 38th Surgeon General, NATO’s chief medical adviser as chair of its Surgeons General Committee, head of the Royal Canadian Medical Service, commander of the fully-integrated military health system, and chair of NATO’s Health, Medicine and Protection research committee. Appointed Honorary Physician to Her Majesty the Queen. Also, he has served on the Council of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the board of the University of Ottawa Institute for Mental Health Research, and the NATO Science and Technology board.


Dr. Gillian Kernaghan is the Past President of St. Joseph's Health Care London, retired 2021. She is a Family Physician who graduated from Western University in 1982 and practiced family medicine in London until 2010. From 1993 to 2010 she served as the VP, Medical for the various hospitals in London. She has served on the OHA Board, CHAO Board, as President of the Canadian Society of Physician Leaders and as Co-Chair of the Canadian Health Leadership Network. She has served on numerous provincial committees and is a frequent speaker at conferences. She has retired as an Associate Professor in the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry and is currently a faculty member of the Physician Leadership Institute of CMA Joule.


Jay Aspin, ICD.D is a graduate of the University of Waterloo (Mathematics & Economics). He has extensive public involvement including serving as a long-term member of the North Bay Hospital Commission and Director of the Nipissing District Social Services Board. He operates his own consulting business providing international business development services. He is the former Chair of two School Boards, former North Bay municipal Councillor and the former Member of Parliament for Nipissing–Timiskaming.


Ms Caroline (Cally) Hunt resides in Toronto and is Head, Finance Technology Transformation, Bank of Montreal. She is responsible for modernizing process and technology to support the role of Finance as a strategic partner in driving business performance. She is a member of the Chief Financial Officer’s Senior Executive Team, and the Bank’s Leadership Council on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Ms. hunt has been at Bank of Montreal since 1996 in increasingly more senior roles in accounting and finance. Ms. Hunt is a Board member, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital Foundation and a member of the Financial Services Tribunal, Ontario. Ms. Hunt received her LLB from the University of Western Ontario in 1980 and her Chartered Accountant designation in 1984. She was made a Fellow of the Ontario CPA Institute in 2013.