Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Postsecondary Education Quality Assessment Board


Beverly Brooks, MA (Economics), MBA, has worked for the federal government in five departments including Public Services and Procurement Canada, Science, Innovation and Economic Development Canada, Transport Canada, Natural Resources and Finance. She has also worked as the Assistant Vice President, Public Relations, Bell Mobility, Executive Director, Investor Learning Centre of Canada and held management positions at two international communication agencies and a shareholder advisory firm. She represented the federal Department of Finance during the negotiations of the indigenous comprehensive claims in northern Canada. In addition, she has advised private and public sector unions on their negotiating strategies. She has completed the Corporate Governance course at the Rotman School of Business at the University of Toronto and served as a director and committee chair on corporate and not-for-profit boards.


is a Director of Research for C.D. Howe Institute, and a former Senior Level Analyst for Parliamentary Research Branch, Library of Parliament. His community involvement includes serving as a Board Member for Post Secondary Education Quality Assessment Board.


In 2000, Patricia Lang, of Thunder Bay, was appointed as President with Confederation College. Ms. Lang was awarded the Dean's Award at Central Michigan University for her outstanding achievement and contributions to community college education in Ontario. She holds a Master of Arts from Central Michigan University and a Bachelor of Nursing from the University of New Brunswick.


Alexandre Laurin is currently Associate Director of Research at the C.D. Howe Institute. He was an analyst with the Library of Parliament, Parliamentary Information and Research Service from 1999 to 2008. Mr. Laurin is a member of the Canadian Association for Business Economics. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics from the University of Quebec and a Masters degree in Economics from Queen's University.


Dr. Neil McCartney spent 26 years at McMaster University as a Professor, researcher and administrator before joining Brock University as Dean of the Faculty of Applied Health Sciences in 2011. He then served as Brock’s Provost and Vice-President, Academic from 2013-2016. Dr. McCartney has been a member of Provincial and National board and spent 4 years as Vice president of the Transitional Council of the College of Kinesiologist’s of Ontario.


Barbara Dickson is a former Managing Director Executive Education for Queen's University School of Business, and a former Director Corporate Training & Distance Learning for Centennial College. Her community involvement includes serving as a Chair for the Orillia Public Library and the North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN Patient Family Advisory Council.


Dr. Tom Murad, County Lead of Engineering & Academics at Siemens Canada, a member of Engineering Order of Honor—Professional Engineers Ontario “PEO”. He is the founder of the Siemens Canada Engineering and Technology Academic “SCETA”, that he has established, and directed since October 2014. Prior to this role, he was the head of the “Expert House” and Engineering Director for Siemens Canada’s Industry sector in 2010. Dr. Murad holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical & Electronics), and a Doctorate (Ph.D.) in Power Electronics and Industrial Controls from Loughborough University of Technology in the UK.