Passer au contenu principal

Biographies des bénéficiaires de nomination

Commission De La Sécurité Professionnelle Et De L'assurance Contre Les Accidents Du Travail

GRANT WALSH

Grant B. Walsh est président de conseils d’administration, PDG et administrateur de sociétés. Il a siégé à plus de 30 conseils d’administration; actuellement, il occupe les postes de président du conseil et/ou d’administrateur de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, de View Canada Inc. (conseil consultatif), de Square Canada et de Square Technologies. Auparavant, il a rempli les fonctions de président du conseil de la Société immobilière du Canada limitée, qui possède des propriétés immobilières partout au Canada et des propriétés touristiques telles que la Tour du CN, Downsview Park, le Vieux-Port de Montréal et le Centre des sciences de Montréal. M Walsh a aussi agi comme président et chef de la direction de l’Hôpital St. Peter’s à Hamilton et vice-président de Hamilton Health Sciences, à Hamilton. À titre de vice-président exécutif de The ServiceMaster Company, à Chicago, dans l’Illinois, il était responsable d’un chiffre d’affaires de 550 millions de dollars, de 30 000 employés et de 10 000 installations réparties dans 44 États et au Canada. M. Walsh détient un MBA et un baccalauréat en anglais et en philosophie. Il possède la désignation d’administrateur agréé de l’Université McMaster et du Conference Board du Canada.

BRUCE SMITH

est directeur général du développement et du soutien stratégique au Collège Fanshawe. Avant de travailler au Collège, il a acquis plusieurs années d’expérience à un poste de haute direction dans le secteur nord-américain de la distribution d’électricité. Il a récemment terminé un mandat de sept ans au sein du conseil d’administration de St. Joseph’s Health Care, London, où il était membre du comité de direction, du comité des ressources financières, du comité consultatif de l’investissement, du comité de déontologie et du comité des ressources humaines.

KAREN TAM

est directrice financière et secrétaire générale de Choice Hotels Canada, le premier franchiseur d’hôtels au pays. Auparavant, elle a été directrice financière et secrétaire générale de l’Institut mondial de gestion des risques du secteur financier ainsi que directrice financière de la Toronto Financial Services Alliance, où elle a assumé différentes fonctions liées à la finance et aux opérations auprès d’entreprises du secteur privé et de sociétés d’experts-conseils, comme Morneau Shepell, Four Seasons Hotels et KPMG. Mme Tam a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de la finance, de la production de rapports, de la gouvernance et de la gestion des opérations. Elle est comptable professionnelle agréée au Canada et aux États Unis ainsi que comptable agréée et analyste financière agréée. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Queen’s.

HELEN POLATAJKO

est administratrice indépendante à CDSPI Consultant, Paiements Canada, et membre indépendante du groupe consultatif en TI de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail et membre indépendante du groupe consultatif en TI, Gluskin Sheff. Madame Polatajko a été dirigeante principale de l’information à la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement et dirigeante principale de l’information à CIBC Mellon. Madame Polatajko fait partie du conseil d’administration de l’Université York.

SEAN MCFARLING

Sean McFarling est avocat général pour le Conseil du district provincial de l’Ontario de l’UIJAN et pour le Central and Eastern Canada Organizing Fund de l’UIJAN. Il donne des conseils juridiques généraux et stratégiques, en plus de superviser et de gérer les affaires juridiques de l’UIJAN. Il occupe ces fonctions depuis novembre 2011. Il est également conseiller juridique indépendant de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario pour les comités de discipline et d’inscription où il donne des conseils juridiques lors d’audiences et de formations professionnelles.

LESLIE LEWIS

Leslie Lewis is the Chief Financial Officer of Avanti Software. Leslie's experience includes financial leadership and private equity investment roles at PowerSchool Group, Onex Partners, Department of Finance Canada, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan and CIBC World Markets. Ms. Lewis' community involvement includes directorships at the Ontario Capital Growth Corporation and the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre. Ms. Lewis is a graduate of Acadia University and the ICD-Rotman, Directors Education Program.

PETER GEORGE

Peter J. George est PDG de Level Group Limited, une société de conseil stratégique spécialisée dans les soins de santé, la gestion d'actifs et les énergies renouvelables. Au cours des 25 dernières années, il a fondé, lancé et développé avec succès de nombreuses entreprises. Les entreprises de son portefeuille évoluent dans des environnements hautement concurrentiels. Il a été propriétaire de l'un des plus grands établissements de santé indépendants de l'Ontario. M. George a également fondé Neurolytixs, une société axée sur le diagnostic des commotions cérébrales basé sur des taches de sang séché. Il a également été le cofondateur de l'une des plus grandes entreprises d'énergie solaire renouvelable de la province. LB Energy et ses partenaires ont levé et investi plus de 53 000 000 $ en immobilisations (infrastructure, usine, propriété et équipement) pour la production localisée d’énergie. M. George a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université de Windsor en 1994.

SANDRA WRYCRAFT

Sandra Wrycraft s’appuie sur une carrière de deux décennies d'expérience du leadership dans un large éventail de contextes commerciaux. Dotée d'un fort esprit d'entreprise, elle a passé plus de 15 ans de sa vie professionnelle à soutenir des organisations par le biais de son propre cabinet de conseil en tant que consultante stratégique et mentor de direction [www.findinc.ca]. Mme Wrycraft est passionnée autant par les personnes que par la performance. Très engagée, elle s'est forgé une réputation respectée en tant que leader dynamique et tournée vers l'avenir, capable d'influencer les résultats financiers grâce à des stratégies efficaces axées sur les personnes. Elle est connue comme un partenaire de confiance, courageuse, résiliente et très responsable, mais aussi authentique, humble et amusante. Mme Wrycraft respire la positivité, et son énergie contagieuse transparaît dans la passion qu’elle voue à inspirer le potentiel d’autrui. Elle est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en administration des affaires avec mention de l'Université Wilfrid Laurier, d'un MBA de la Schulich School of Business (Université York) et d'un certificat de maîtrise en mentorat de direction de l'Université Royal Roads.

PAUL BATES

Paul K. Bates, M.T.S., DPT, FCPA, FCMA, CMC. Une carrière comprenant une expérience en entreprise (publique et privée), dans l’administration publique, dans la réglementation, dans le gouvernement, dans le milieu universitaire et dans les organisations communautaires et à but non lucratif. M. Bates se concentre sur la gouvernance et le conseil, dans des rôles d’entreprise, d’État et de réglementation, ainsi que sur le service communautaire en tant que diacre dans son église après une carrière comprenant l’administration académique supérieure; de nombreuses conférences (formation de premier, deuxième et troisième cycle); la défense des investisseurs; la réglementation des marchés de capitaux; la gouvernance d’entreprise et d’organismes à but non lucratif (publics et privés); la direction de courtiers en valeurs mobilières; la gestion supérieure et exécutive dans les services financiers de détail; le témoignage d’expert et le conseil dans le secteur des services financiers.

JEFFERY LANG

Jeffery Lang est membre (à temps partiel) de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail depuis 2019. Il est également membre à temps partiel de la Commission des services policiers de la Ville de London. M. Lang a été président et PDG à Exi-Plast Custom Moulding Ltd. Au titre de son engagement communautaire, il est président du conseil d’administration du groupe Canadian Economic Development Assistance for South Sudan.

Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Workplace Safety And Insurance Board

GRANT WALSH

Grant B. Walsh is a Chairman, CEO and corporate director. He has served on 30 plus Boards of Directors and currently serves as Chairman and / or Director of WSIB, View Canada Inc. (Advisory Board), Square Canada, and Square Technologies. Walsh was Chairman of Canada Lands Company Limited with real estate properties across Canada and tourism properties including the CN Tower; Downsview Park; Old Port of Montreal; and the Montreal Science Centre. Walsh was President and CEO of St. Peter’s Health System and Vice President of Hamilton Health Sciences, Hamilton, ON. As Executive Vice President of The ServiceMaster Company, Chicago, IL, Grant was accountable for $550 million in revenue, 30,000 employees, and 10,000 facilities in 44 states and Canada. Mr. Walsh has a Master of Business Administration degree and an undergraduate degree in English and Philosophy. He holds a designation as a Chartered Director from McMaster University and the Conference Board of Canada.

LORI TURIK

is the Executive Director for the World Health Innovation Network with Odette School of Business, University of Windsor. Lori is also the Chief Operating Officer for Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health. Lori's community involvement includes serving as a board member for Cross Border Health Foundation and Canadian Institute of Health Research. She has also served as a Collaborator, Advisor, Supporter and Volunteer for Ability on Line and the Sandbox Project.

BRUCE SMITH

is an Executive Director, Business Development and Strategic Support and Fanshawe College. Prior to joining Fanshawe College, Bruce gained several years of senior management experience in the North American electricity distribution sector. Bruce recently completed a seven-year term as a Member of the Board of Directors for St. Joseph’s Health Care, London where he served on the Executive Committee of the Board and the Financial Resources, Investment Advisory, Ethics and Human Resources Committees.

KAREN TAM

is the CFO and Corporate Secretary at Choice Hotels Canada, Canada’s largest hotel franchisor. She was previously the CFO and Corporate Secretary of Global Risk Institute in Financial Services and the CFO of Toronto Financial Services Alliance, following roles in finance and operations with a range of private sector firms and professional consulting companies, including Morneau Shepell, Four Seasons Hotels, and KPMG LLP. Karen has more than twenty years’ experience in finance, reporting, governance, and operations management. Karen is a CPA, CA, and holds the CFA and US CPA designations. She has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Queens University.

HELEN POLATAJKO

is an Independent Board Director of CDSPI Consultant, Payments Canada, and Independent Member of IT Advisory Group with the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board and an Independent Member of IT Advisory Group, Gluskin Sheff. Ms. Polatajko is a former Chief Information Officer with Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation and a former Chief Information Officer at CIBC Mellon. Her community involvement includes serving as a director of the board for York University.

SEAN MCFARLING

Sean McFarling is retained as general counsel to LiUNA, Ontario Provincial District Council and LiUNA, Central and Eastern Canada Organizing Fund. He provides general legal advice and strategy as well as overseeing and managing LiUNA’s legal affairs. He has served in this role since November 2011. Sean is also retained by the Professional Engineers of Ontario as Independent Legal Counsel to both the Discipline and Registration Committees where he provides legal advice in hearings and educational training.

LESLIE LEWIS

Leslie Lewis is the Chief Financial Officer of Avanti Software. Leslie's experience includes financial leadership and private equity investment roles at PowerSchool Group, Onex Partners, Department of Finance Canada, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan and CIBC World Markets. Ms. Lewis' community involvement includes directorships at the Ontario Capital Growth Corporation and the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre. Ms. Lewis is a graduate of Acadia University and the ICD-Rotman, Directors Education Program.

PETER GEORGE

Peter J. George-CEO Level Group. The Level Group Limited is a strategic advisory company that specializes in health care, asset management and renewable energy. He has founded, seeded, and grown multiple companies with successful exits over the past 25 years. The portfolio companies participate in highly competitive environments. He has owned one of the largest independent health facilities in the Province of Ontario. He also founded Neurolytixs, a company focused on diagnosing concussions via dried blood spots. He was also the co-founder of one of the largest solar renewable energy in the Province of Ontario. LB Energy and its partners raised and invested more than $53,000,000 for capital expenditures for infrastructure, plant, property, and equipment for the purposes of localized power generation. Mr. George earned a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Windsor in 1994. Mr. George earned a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Windsor in 1994.

SANDRA WRYCRAFT

Sandra Wrycraft career spans 2 decades of leadership experience across a broad array of business settings. Highly entrepreneurial, Sandra has spent over 15 years of her career supporting organizations through her own consulting practice as a strategic consultant and executive coach [www.findinc.ca]. Sandra has a unique balance of passion for both people and performance. Highly committed, Sandra has built a respected reputation as a future-focused, high spirited leader with a keen ability to impact bottom line results through effective people-focused strategies. Sandra is known as a trusted partner who is brave, resilient, and highly accountable yet genuine, humble, and fun. She exudes positivity and her contagious energy shines through in her passion to inspire potential in others. Sandra has an Honors BBA from Wilfrid Laurier University, an MBA from the Schulich School of Business at York University, and a Master's Certificate in Executive Coaching from Royal Roads University.

PAUL BATES

Dr. Paul K. Bates, M.T.S., DPT, FCPA, FCMA, CMC. A career that includes corporate (public/private), crown, regulatory, government, academic, and not-for-profit/community experience. Dr. Paul K. Bates is focused on governance and consulting, in Corporate, Crown and Regulatory roles, together with community service as a Deacon in his church; following a career that has included senior academic administration; extensive lecturing (undergraduate, graduate & executive education); investor advocacy; capital markets regulation; broad corporate and not-for-profit governance (public & private); investment dealer executive leadership; senior and executive management in retail financial services; expert witness and consulting in the financial services sector.

JEFFERY LANG

Jeffery Lang has been serving as member (part-time) on the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board since 2019 and serves as a member (part-time) for the Police Services Board- City of London. Jeffery is a former President/Chief Executive Officer for Exi-Plast Custom Moulding Ltd. Jeffery’s community involvement includes serving as a Board Chair for Canadian Economic Development Assistance for South Sudan.