Passer au contenu principal

Biographies des bénéficiaires de nomination

Conseil De La Prévention

COLIN DERAAF

Colin Deraaf est directeur de la formation à la CLAC en Ontario. Colin a commencé sa carrière en 2003 comme représentant des relations de travail à la CLAC. Depuis 2009, il a dirigé le développement des programmes de formation de la CLAC en Ontario, touchant des milliers de travailleurs chaque année dans une variété de secteurs. Colin est coprésident du Comité patronal-syndical pour le secteur de la santé et la sécurité de la CLAC, en plus d’être conseiller régulier pour divers groupes communautaires, se concentrant sur la sensibilisation, l’enseignement et les ressources en matière de santé et de sécurité, destinés aux étudiants de niveaux secondaire et postsecondaire, aux communautés autochtones, aux nouveaux Canadiens, aux jeunes à risque et aux parrains et éducateurs en matière d’apprentissage.

JAMES ST. JOHN

James St. John est un directeur administratif et secrétaire financier de l’organisme Central Ontario Building Trades, ainsi que le président et directeur du programme Hammer Heads. Il est membre du conseil d’administration du Worker’s Health & Safety Centre (WHSC) et fait partie du comité d’accompagnement de l’organisme B.O.L.T (Building Opportunities for Life Today) de Tridel.

ROGER TICKNER

Roger Tickner est président de Tickner and Associates Inc. et de Tickner Brooks Professional Corporation. Il porte le titre de Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP)/Professionnel en sécurité agréé du Canada (PSAC); il a d’ailleurs été président du Conseil canadien des professionnels en sécurité agréés. Il est également parajuriste autorisé et membre du Barreau de l’Ontario. De plus, M. Tickner détient les titres de Canadian Management Professional (CMP) et de Registered Professional Trainer (RPT) décernés par l’Institute of Professional Management. Il travaille dans le domaine de la gestion de la sécurité depuis 1976.

DANIEL FLEMING

Dan Fleming est un spécialiste chevronné de la sécurité sanitaire. Au cours de ses 35 ans de carrière dans le secteur de la construction, il a dispensé de la formation et de l’enseignement sur la gestion des risques dans ce secteur dans tout le Canada. Dan a commencé sa carrière en tant que chaudronnier, charpentier et plongeur commercial, et détient la qualification Sceau rouge. Il a passé 15 ans au sein de l’Association ontarienne de la sécurité dans la construction et de l’Infrastructure Health and Safety Association, avant de se joindre à EllisDon Corporation à titre de directeur de la formation en santé et sécurité. Il porte le titre de Canadian Registered Safety Professional (C.R.S.P.) et celui de Certified Health and Safety Consultant (CHSC) de la Canadian Society of Safety Engineers (CSSE). Il travaille actuellement à NORACT en tant que directeur de la formation et du perfectionnement pour la région du grand Toronto.

BLAIR ALLIN

Blair Allin représente la Fraternité internationale des chaudronniers. M. Allin est chaudronnier depuis 1981. Ses compétences en sécurité et pratiques sécuritaires l’ont amené à devenir représentant canadien en santé et sécurité. Il a été diplômé du Harvard Trade Union Program en 2018. M. Allin siège à plusieurs comités de santé et sécurité à travers le Canada. Il est bénévole pour Thames Talbot Land Trust et intendant des propriétés locales de la fiducie.

ISRA LEVY

Isra Levy est un spécialiste de la santé publique et de la médecine préventive et un épidémiologiste. Il est actuellement vice-président aux affaires médicales et à l’innovation à la Société canadienne du sang. Auparavant, il a occupé les postes de médecin hygiéniste de la ville d’Ottawa et de médecin hygiéniste en chef de l’Association médicale canadienne. Il a également fourni des services de consultant à Santé Canada dans le domaine de l’épidémiologie du cancer et à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail de l’Ontario pour l’examen de cas complexes de maladies professionnelles. M. Levy est aussi professeur associé à l’École d’épidémiologie et de santé publique de l’Université d’Ottawa.

DUSTIN PHILP

Dustin Philp a exercé un métier spécialisé pendant 18 ans et travaillé dans le domaine des relations du travail pendant 8 ans. Il est actuellement président de la section locale 112 d’Unifor à l’usine Tormont à Concord. Grâce à une formation importante en matière de santé et de sécurité, notamment à des certificats en droits de la personne, en substances toxiques en milieu de travail et en processus et fonctions de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, M. Philp connaît bien l’éventail des problèmes de santé et de sécurité au travail auxquels font face les métiers spécialisés et s’efforce de prévenir les accidents du travail grâce à la sensibilisation et la communication avec son équipe et ses membres.

SANDRO PINTO

Sandro Pinto a commencé sa carrière en 1998 à l’Union internationale des journaliers d’Amérique du Nord (UIJAN) comme membre de la section locale 183, où il travaillait dans le secteur du génie civil lourd pour l’un des plus importants entrepreneurs de la région du grand Toronto en tant que délégué syndical et représentant en matière de sécurité et de santé sur le chantier. Son expérience sur le terrain l’a amené à occuper un poste au Tri-Fund canadien de l’UIJAN pour aider les sections locales de l’UIJAN à élaborer des programmes et à réaliser d’autres projets spéciaux pour l’Union internationale. En janvier 2002, M. Pinto a été embauché en tant que premier coordonnateur de l’apprentissage pour le centre de formation de l’UIJAN à la section locale 183, où il a aidé le centre à obtenir le statut d’agent de formation pour trois programmes d’apprentissage : briqueteur-maçon, manœuvre en construction et finisseur de béton. Pendant toute la durée de son mandat de coordonnateur au centre de formation, il a été responsable de toutes les activités quotidiennes en rapport avec les programmes de formation et d’apprentissage en construction. Il a ensuite été promu directeur de l’apprentissage et de la formation professionnelle et a commencé à travailler à l’élaboration d’un nouveau programme d’études et à collaborer avec le gouvernement provincial à divers niveaux concernant les exigences en matière d’apprentissage. Grâce à sa détermination et à ses connaissances approfondies de la formation en construction, M. Pinto a été nommé directeur administratif du centre de formation de la section 183 de l’UIJAN en novembre 2012. En plus de superviser les activités quotidiennes des six campus du centre de formation dans la région du grand Toronto, soit à Toronto, à Vaughan, à Cobourg, à Kingston, à Cambridge et dans le comté de Simcoe, il dirige les initiatives de formation provinciales au sein du réseau de formation de l’UIJAN. Il siège également à divers comités auxquels il consacre son temps et son expérience, et a récemment été nommé au conseil d’administration de l’Infrastructure Health and Safety Association. Entre autres comités, il fait aussi partie du Comité consultatif provincial en vertu de l’article 21, qui relève directement du ministre du Travail, du Comité provincial des directeurs de la formation pour les métiers de la construction de l’Ontario, du Comité mixte canadien et américain de l’apprentissage pour la Fondation internationale depuis 2013 ainsi que de divers comités de santé et de sécurité dans l’industrie. Avant la COVID-19, M. Pinto a également donné de son temps à l’équipe de hockey junior des Winterhawks de Milton, pour laquelle il a participé à des collectes de fonds et à des tournois. M. Pinto a aidé à organiser diverses initiatives d’approche communautaire visant à promouvoir les métiers spécialisés auprès des jeunes à risque et des communautés marginalisées de la RGT, et continue de faire valoir l’importance et la viabilité des carrières en construction.

BRIAN ARNOLD

Brian Arnold est un professionnel des services d’incendie qui se consacre à la sécurité des civils et des pompiers. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration publique et de nombreux certificats, dont NFPA 1021 – officier pompier niveau IV et CMSST niveau II, il a démontré son engagement envers le perfectionnement professionnel et les normes de l’industrie. M. Arnold a été officier supérieur et leader au sein du service d’incendie de l’Ontario pendant plus d’une décennie. Il possède 27 ans d’expérience dans la fonction publique et une grande compréhension du secteur municipal. En tant que chef et chef adjoint de service d’incendie dans plusieurs municipalités, le chef Arnold a piloté plusieurs initiatives en matière de santé, de sécurité et de bien-être, telles que la prévention des traumatismes liés au stress professionnel et du trouble de stress post-traumatique, le retour au travail rapide et en toute sécurité, l’évaluation et l’atténuation des risques de pandémie, les enquêtes sur les accidents évités de justesse et les programmes de prévention visant à répondre aux nouvelles tendances en matière de blessures et d’accidents.

CORA DEMARCO

Cora DeMarco occupe actuellement le poste de directrice des ressources humaines et du perfectionnement du personnel chez Technica Mining, une division de Technica Group Inc, un entrepreneur en exploitation minière souterraine et en construction de premier ordre spécialisé dans la construction, le développement et la production de mines, établi à Lively, en Ontario. Possédant 12 ans d’expérience dans le domaine des ressources humaines dans l’industrie minière, Mme DeMarco dirige les initiatives de Technica Mining en matière de recrutement et de perfectionnement. Démontrant sa compréhension de la valeur de la participation des parties prenantes, elle a été présidente du conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce du Grand Sudbury en 2020-2021 et membre du groupe de travail du comité sur l’indemnisation des travailleurs et la santé au travail de l’Ontario Mining Association. Mme DeMarco a obtenu un diplôme spécialisé en sciences politiques de l’Université Sir Wilfred Laurier et un diplôme universitaire supérieur en ressources humaines du Collège Cambrian.

STEPHEN CHAPLIN

Stephen Chaplin est vice-président de la santé, de la sécurité et de l’environnement pour EllisDon Corporation et vice-président de la section qualité, santé, sécurité, environnement et durabilité pour Acciona Canada. Entre autres activités communautaires, M. Chaplin a autrefois tenu un rôle de leader pour l’organisme Junior Forest Wardens.

BILL MADER

Bill Mader est compagnon contremaître pour Vanos Insulation. Dans le cadre de ses activités communautaires, M. Mader a été entraîneur de l’équipe de hockey mineur de Glencoe.

RODNEY COOK

Rod Cook est le vice-président des services de santé et de sécurité au travail de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (WSIB). M. Cook est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en économie de l’Université Concordia et d’une maîtrise en relations industrielles de l’Université de Toronto. En tant que vice-président des services de santé et de sécurité au travail, il supervise tous les aspects des programmes de santé et de sécurité au travail de la WSIB, en s’efforçant d’être à l’avant-garde de l’innovation et de créer une culture axée sur la santé et la sécurité en Ontario. Avant de se joindre aux services de santé et de sécurité au travail, il a occupé pendant quatre ans le poste de vice-président des ressources humaines de la WSIB. Sous la direction de M. Cook, la WSIB a obtenu le niveau d’agrément argent en fonction de la norme de santé mentale au travail d’Excellence Canada. Avant de se joindre à la WSIB, M. Cook a occupé des postes de direction chez Rogers Communications, Allstream et AT&T Canada. Il a reçu le prix Morley Gunderson de l’Université de Toronto en 2019.

LEE-ANNE LYON-BARTLEY

Mme Lee Anne Lyon Bartley occupe actuellement le poste de vice-présidente directrice, Santé, sécurité, environnement et qualité auprès de l’entreprise Dexterra Group Inc. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences appliquées de la faculté de la santé au travail et de santé publique de l’Université Ryerson, Mme Lyon Bartley détient le titre de Professionnelle en sécurité agréée du Canada (PSAC®). En outre, elle est agréée en salubrité des aliments auprès de la National Environmental Health Association, et a obtenu un agrément du National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health (NEBOSH) et du Institute for Environmental Management and Assessment. Elle a participé à l’émission Steven and Chris télédiffusée sur les ondes de la Société Radio Canada afin de prodiguer des conseils simples en matière de sécurité à la maison et a été citée dans le rapport annuel de 2016 de l’Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé. Au chapitre de l’engagement social, Mme Lyon Bartley fait partie du comité consultatif représentant le sous-secteur d’activité des services commerciaux et industriels de l’organisme Workplace Safety & Prevention Services ainsi que du comité de planification de la marche Un pas pour la vie à Toronto de l’organisme Fil de Vie. De plus, elle a déjà été directrice de la Women in Occupational Health & Safety Society. Elle a donné des cours de santé et de sécurité au Collège Humber et au Collège Seneca en Ontario ainsi qu’au Collège Keyano à Fort McMurray en Alberta. En 2020, bon nombre de grandes chaînes d’information l’ont interviewée.

Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Prevention Council

PATRICK BOURGEOIS

Patrick Bourgeois has been and active member with Kiewit Corporation for more than 20 years, joining multiple Joint Ventures and Sole Projects in North America. He has developed extensive experience in a variety of markets; mainly civil, industrial, process plants, communications, transportation, water hydraulics, marine vessels, oil and gas. Patrick is currently the Construction Manager for the East on the Ottawa LRT Project, Stage 2. Patrick continues to champion the Craft Voice in Safety (CVIS) and the Craft Ambassador Safety Program and participated at may Safety Summits as a speaker/presenter.

ERNEST PETER ROWE

Ernest Peter Rowe is an entrepreneur and CEO with over 25 years in the energy sector and 6 years in the financial industry. Mr Rowe has an extensive background in corporate governance, finance, risk management, including workplace safety. He has managed multimillion-dollar projects in Canada and the US in connection with upstream energy and pipeline construction projects. He has had first hand expertise in drafting and implementing corporate emergency response plans and WHMIS regulations. As a former director of the Ontario Petroleum Institute for 18 years, he served as President for 3 years and has represented the Ontario petroleum industry before the OEB.

JOHN BOURKE

John Bourke is a Business Manager/Financial Secretary for the IBEW Local 586. John holds a Certificate of Apprenticeship in Construction and Maintenance Electrician from Algonquin College.

COLIN DERAAF

Colin Deraaf is the Director of Training for CLAC in Ontario. Colin began his career as a labor relations representative with CLAC in 2003. Since 2009 he has directed the development of CLAC’s training programs in Ontario, reaching thousands of workers each year in a variety of sectors. Colin is the co-chair of the CLAC Sector Health and Safety Labour-Management Committee and is a regular advisor for various community-based groups, focusing on providing health and safety awareness, instruction, and resources to secondary and post-secondary students, indigenous communities, new Canadians, at-risk youth, and apprenticeship sponsors and educators.

JAMES ST. JOHN

James St. John is a business manager/financial secretary of The Central Ontario Building Trades and the President/Director of the Hammer Heads Program. James is a member of the board of director for the Worker’s Health & Safety Centre (WHSC), a part of Tridel’s B.O.L.T (Building Opportunities for Life Today) Wrap Around Committee.

PATRICIA PEREIRA JANICAS

Patricia Pereira Janicas has been an employee of Kenaidan Contracting Ltd. Patricia sits and participants in various industry committees, influencing legislative change and continuous improvement of health & safety standards for construction; including the Ontario Provincial Labour-Management Health & Safety Committee (PLMHSC), Carpenter’s Trade/Sector Committee of Ontario and an active member of the Ontario General Contractor’s Health & Safety Committee and the Merit OpenShop Contractor’s Association Health & Safety Committee. Patricia received her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto and completed the Human Resource Management Program at McMaster University. Also, Patricia has been a Certified Human Resource leader since 2004.

ROGER TICKNER

Roger Tickner is the President of Tickner and Associates Inc, and Tickner Brooks Professional Corporation. He is a CRSP and the Past Chair of BCRSP. He is also a Licenced Paralegal and member of the Law Society of Ontario. In addition, he holds Canadian Management Professional (CMP) and Canadian Registered Professional Trainer (RPT) designations from the Institute of Professional Management. Mr. Tickner has been involved in safety management since 1976.

DANIEL FLEMING

Dan Fleming is an experienced health safety professional. In his 35 years career in the construction industry, Dan has provided training and education on risk management to the construction sector across Canada. Dan started his career working as a Boilermaker, Carpenter, and Commercial Diver. Dan then spent 15 years with the Construction Safety Association of Ontario and Infrastructure Health and Safety Association before joining EllisDon Corporation as corporate director, health, and safety training. Dan is a Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) and also holds a designation of Certified Health and Safety Consultant (CHSC) with the Canadian Society of Safety Engineers (CSSE). Dan is currently employed at NORACT as manager, training and development GTA.

BLAIR ALLIN

Blair Allin represents the International Brotherhood of Boilermakers. Blair has worked as a Boilermaker since 1981, developing a skill set in safety and safe practices that has guided him into the position of National Health and Safety Representative. Blair graduated from the Harvard Trade Union Program in 2018. Additionally, Blair sits on health and safety related committees throughout the country. Blair is a dedicated volunteer with the Thames Talbot Land Trust and is a Steward for local properties held by the Trust.

ISRA LEVY

Isra Levy is a specialist in Public Health and Preventative Medicine and epidemiologist. He is currently Vice President of Medical Affairs and Innovation at Canadian Blood Services and has previously held positions as Medical Officer of Health for the City of Ottawa, and Chief Medical Officer at the Canadian Medical Association. He has also provided consultant services to Health Canada in cancer epidemiology and the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board of Ontario in complex occupational disease case reviews, and in an Adjunct Professor at the School of Epidemiology and Public Health at the University of Ottawa.

DUSTIN PHILP

Dustin Philp has 18 years experience working as a skilled tradesman and 8 years working in labour relations and currently serves as the Plant Chairperson Tormont-Concord Unifor Local 112. With significant training in health and safety including certificates in Human Rights, Toxic Substances in the Workplace, and WSIB processes and functions, Philp is well versed in the range of occupational health and safety issues facing the skilled trades and works to prevent workplace injuries through education and communication with his team and members.

SANDRO PINTO

Sandro Pinto began his career with LIUNA as a Member of LIUNA Local 183 in 1998 working in the heavy civil sector for one of the largest contractors in the GTA, as a Union Steward and a Health and Safety Representative on site. Mr. Pinto’s field experience led him to a position with the LiUNA Canadian Tri‐Fund assisting LiUNA locals with program development as well as working on other special projects for the International. In January 2002 Mr. Pinto was hired on as the first Apprenticeship Coordinator for the LIUNA Local 183 Training Centre, where he assisted the Centre with obtaining Training Delivery Agent status in three apprenticeships, Brick and Stone, Construction Craft Worker and Cement Finisher. Throughout his tenure as Coordinator at the LiUNA Local 183 Training Centre, Mr. Pinto was responsible for all day to day activities involving construction skills training and apprenticeship programs. He then was promoted to Manager of Apprenticeship and Skills Training and began working on the development of new program curriculum as well as working with various levels of provincial government on apprenticeship requirements. His determination focusses and extensive knowledge of construction training led Mr. Pinto to be appointed as the Executive Director of the LiUNA Local 183 Training Centre in November 2012. In addition to overseeing the day to day operations of all six of the LiUNA Local 183 Training Centre’s campuses across the GTA including Toronto, Vaughan, Cobourg, Kingston, Cambridge and Simcoe County, he also spearheads provincial training initiatives within the LiUNA training network. Mr. Pinto also lends his time and experience to various committees on which he sits. He was also recently appointed to the Board of Directors for the Infrastructure Health and Safety Association. Other committees include the Section 21 Provincial Advisory Committee, which reports directly to the Minister of Labour, LiUNA representative on the Provincial Training Directors’ Committee for the Ontario Provincial Building Trades, Joint Canadian and US Apprenticeship Committee for the International Foundation since 2013 as well as various industry health and safety committees. Pre Covid‐19, Mr. Pinto also offered his time to the Milton Winterhawks Junior Hockey team, for which he assisted with fundraising drives and tournaments. He helped to organize various community outreach initiatives to promote the skilled trades to at risk youth and marginalized communities across the GTA and continues to be a voice for the importance and viability of a career in construction.

BRIAN ARNOLD

Brian Arnold is a fire service professional dedicated to civilian and firefighter safety. With a master’s degree in public administration and numerous certifications, including NFPA 1021 – Fire Officer Level IV and JHSC Level II, Brian has demonstrated a commitment to professional development and industry standards. Brian has spent over a decade as a chief officer and leader in the Ontario fire service. He has 27 years of public service experience and a broad understanding of the municipal sector. As Fire Chief and Deputy Fire Chief in several municipalities, Chief Arnold has navigated several heath, safety and wellness initiatives such as occupational stress injury and PTSD prevention, safe and early return to work, pandemic risk assessment and mitigation, near-miss investigation and preventative programming to address emerging trends in injuries and accidents.

CORA DEMARCO

Cora DeMarco presently holds the role of Manager, Human Resources and People Development at Technica Mining, a Division of Technica Group Inc., a primer underground mining and construction contractor specializing in mine construction, development and production based out of Lively, Ontario. With 12 years practicing human resources in the mining industry, Cora leads Technica Mining’s initiatives related to recruitment and development. Demonstrating her understanding in the value of stakeholder engagement, she was the 2020-2021 Chair of the Board of Directors at the Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce and committee member to the Ontario Mining Association’s Worker’s Compensation and Occupational Health Committee Working Group. Cora received her honors degree in Political Science from Sir Wilfred Laurier University and her Human Resources Graduate Diploma from Cambrian College.

STEPHEN CHAPLIN

Stephen Chaplin is Vice President of Health, Safety and Environment for EllisDon Corporation, and a Vice President of QHSE and Sustainability for Acciona Canada. His community involvement includes formerly serving as a leader for Junior Forest Wardens.

BILL MADER

Bill Mader is a Journey man Foreman for Vanos Insulation. His community involvement includes formerly serving as a coach for Glencoe Minor Hockey.

RODNEY COOK

Rod Cook is the Vice President of Workplace Health and Safety Services at the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB). Rod has a BA in Economics from Concordia University and a Master of Industrial Relations from the University of Toronto. As the Vice President of Workplace Health and Safety Services, he oversees all aspects of workplace health and safety programs at the WSIB, with a focus on being at the forefront of innovation and creating a culture of health and safety in Ontario. Before joining Workplace Health and Safety Services, Rod spent four years as the WSIB’s Vice President of Human Resources. Under Rod’s leadership, the WSIB was awarded the Mental Health at Work Silver Level certification from Excellence Canada. Prior to joining the WSIB, Rod held leadership positions at Rogers Communications, Allstream and AT&T Canada. Rod was recognized with the Morley Gunderson Prize by the University of Toronto in 2019.

LEE-ANNE LYON-BARTLEY

Lee-Anne Lyon-Bartley is currently Executive Vice President, Health, Safety, Environment and Quality at Dexterra Group Inc. She holds a BASc from Ryerson in Occupational and Public Health, is a Certified Registered Safety Professional), a Certified Professional in Food Safety, is NEBOSH and IEMA certified. She was featured on the nationally televised Steven and Chris Show on CBC highlighting simple safety tips at home and featured in the Institute for Work and Health’s 2016 annual report. She volunteers with Workplace Safety Prevention Services on their Commercial Industrial Services Advisory Committee, Threads of Life’s Steps for Life Toronto Planning committee and was a director for the Women in Occupational Health and Safety Society. She was teaching health and safety at Seneca and Humber College in Ontario and Keyano college in Fort McMurray, Alberta. In 2020, she was interviewed by several major news channels.