Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Death Investigation Oversight Council


The Honourable Edward Then has been a member (part-time) since March 2020. He is a former Judge with the Superior Court of Justice. He is a member of Ontario and Canadian Superior Courts Judges Association. Edward holds a BA [Hons], MA, and LLB from University of Toronto.


Dr. Fiona Smaill is Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine in the Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University. She is a Medical Microbiologist for the Hamilton Regional Laboratory Medicine Program and a consultant in Infectious Diseases and Infection Control at Hamilton Health Sciences. Dr. Smaill has her MB, ChB from the University of Otago, New Zealand, completed her residencies in Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases and Medical Microbiology at McMaster University and has her MSc in Clinical Epidemiology. Bio French


Barbara Collins was appointed the President and CEO of Humber River Hospital in July 2016. In her previous role as COO, she served as the Senior Executive Lead for our redevelopment project, and oversaw the design, construction and activation of the Wilson site, North America’s first fully digital hospital that opened in October 2015. This ground breaking approach to integrating technology across all hospital systems and workflows was shortly followed by the development and implementation of Humber River Hospital’s Command Centre in November 2017, a first in Canada and second in the world. Barb is a Registered Nurse with an MBA from Queens University, and has over 40 years of progressive leadership experience in all major clinical and support areas of acute care. She is passionate about operational efficiency, high reliability and compassionate patient care.


Barbara Collins is currently a member of the Premier’s Council on Improving Healthcare and Ending Hallway Medicine. She is the President and Chief Executive Officer for the Humber River Hospital, and a former Chief Operating Officer for the Humber River Hospital. Barbara holds an MBA from Queens University.


Syed Zaki Ahmed is the Chief of Staff at Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre. He is an Internist and Intensivist by training and is still involved in full-time clinical activities. He has a special interest in social justice and equality.


Ato Sekyi-Otu is registered physician in the province of Ontario, a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada and a member in good standing of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario for 23 years. He has completed Clinical Fellowships in Adult Reconstructive Joint Replacement Surgery and Sports Medicine. Dr. Sekyi-Out lives in Mississauga and has been practicing orthopaedic surgeon in Brampton at the William Osler Health Centre. Dr. Skyi-Out is a lecturer is a lecturer in the faculty in medicine at the University of Toronto. His community interests include mentoring at-risk youth, encouraging diversity in medicine and advocating for equal access to healthcare.


Lucille Perreault joined Georgian Bay General Hospital (GBGH) in 2017 as the Vice President, Clinical Services and Chief Nursing Executive. Lucille came to GBGH with many years’ experience as a senior hospital executive with diversified and extensive expertise in health system planning, strategic development, governance and value-based leadership. During her time at the Sudbury Regional Hospital and at academic health centre Montfort Hospital, Lucille has participated in restructuring and transformation of hospital operations, community services and capital planning. Through her previous role as VP, Clinical Programs and CNE at an academic health centre, Lucille was accountable for the quality and strategic performance of the organization's clinical services and operations. She has also provided strategic nursing and interprofessional clinical practice stewardship, and collaborated with other dynamic senior administrative leaders, hospital Board of Directors and medical chiefs to continually improve exceptional patient care during every encounter. Known as a dynamic and highly motivated executive leader with a passion for innovation and entrepreneurship, Lucille has worked with leaders and led teams in environments centered on excellence and collaboration.


Rebecca Hildyard is a senior manager of forensic services for PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. She is a former Operational Due Diligence Analyst for Albourne Partners (Canada) Limited, and a former manager of financial crime for Deloitte LLP.


Heather Arthur was the Vice-President of Patient Services and Chief Nursing Executive at the Cornwall Community Hospital from 2004 – 2019. Ms. Arthur has more than 30 years of administrative and clinical experience in healthcare. She participated on various regional committees and led regional initiatives related to clinical services in the acute healthcare system. As the Chief Nursing Officer, Ms. Arthur led the nursing team inclusive of professional practice, and was also responsible for laboratory and pathology services, diagnostic services, patient experience, and quality and risk. Ms. Arthur previously had experience with pre-hospital emergency care as the Chief of the Cornwall Emergency Medical Services. Throughout her expansive career, Ms. Arthur was committed to instilling quality in the many innovative and transformative projects within the organizations where she worked. Ms. Arthur was a Board member of the Nursing Leadership Network and was the Chair of the St. Lawrence College/Laurentian University Health Sciences Advisory Committee.


Christine terSteege is a Public Safety Professor at Sheridan College and Program Coordinator of the Investigations program. She formerly served as Vice-Chair of the Ontario Parole Board and was a Police Constable with Peel Regional Police. She holds a BA in Criminal Justice and Public Policy from University of Guelph, and a master’s degree from Penn State University in Homeland Security.


Michael Amato is a former Police Officer with the York Regional Police. He holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts degree with the University of Toronto.