Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Independent Electricity System Operator (Ieso)


Steve Baker is the former President of Union Gas Limited (Spectra Energy Corp/ Enbridge Inc), and a former Vice President and Treasurer for Spectra Energy Corp. His community involvement includes serving as a Committee Member for the Children’s Treatment Centre of Chatham-Kent Capital Committee.


Patricia Koval is a corporate director and a former senior partner of Torys LLP, where she practiced corporate law. Patricia is the Chair of Toronto and Region Conservation Foundation and of the Canada-India Business Council and she serves on the board of Trans Mountain Corporation, and several other corporations. She is a member of the Ontario Executive of the Institute of Corporate Directors and the Canadian Performance Reporting Board of CPA Canada. Patricia graduated from the joint MBA/J.D (LLB) program at Schulich School of Business and Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, Canada after completed a Hons BA (Economics).


Michael Bernstein is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Capstone Infrastructure Corporation. Michael was previously the President of Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets Canada Ltd. and a Senior Managing Director of Macquarie Group Limited. Prior to this, Michael served as the Senior Managing Director of Infrastructure and Utilities Advisory for Macquarie Capital Markets Canada, as well as a senior executive with CIBC World Markets’ Power & Utilities investment banking group. Currently, Michael is the chair of CircuitMeter Inc, and a director of BiomeRenewable. Until January 2019, he was the Chairman of the Association of Power Producers of Ontario (APPrO). He is a member of the Young Presidents’ Organization (YPO). Michael holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Philosophy from Dartmouth College and an MBA from Ivey Business School at Western University. He also holds the Chartered Financial Analyst and ICD.D designations.


retired as the President and CEO of Kenora Hydro Electric Corporation Ltd. and has been in senior management for more than 25 years. He is a past chair of the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA), previously known as the Municipal Electric Association (MEA). He is also the past Chair of the Municipal Electric Association Reciprocal Insurance Exchange (MEARIE), and a current board member of MEARIE Management Inc (MMI). Dave is the Vice-Chair of the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation.


Cynthia Chaplin has more than 30 years of experience as an energy economist, consultant and regulator in Canada and the UK. She served as Member, Vice-Chair and Chair & CEO (interim) of the Ontario Energy Board (2004-2014), where she presided over complex multi-party oral hearings and policy consultations. She has held senior positions with British Petroleum, Amoco and the United Kingdom’s gas regulator (Ofgas). She is currently Executive Director of CAMPUT, the association of Canada’s provincial, federal, and territorial energy and utility regulators. She holds undergraduate and master’s degrees in economics from the University of Toronto and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.


Joe Oliver served as the federal Minister of Finance from 2014-2015 and federal Minister of Natural Resources from 2011-2014, and Member of Parliament for the riding of Eglinton-Lawrence from 2001-2015. He is a past president and CEO of Investment Dealers Association and former executive director of the Ontario Securities Commission. Mr. Oliver also held senior positions in investment banking operations at Merrill Lynch Royal Securities, Nesbitt Thomson and BMO Nesbitt Inc. Mr. Oliver is currently the Chairman of the Board of Echelon Wealth Partners.


Simon Chapelle has over 25 years of specialty marketing and sales experience in the mining, environmental and telecom industries and more than a decade of community engagement in economic development. Over his career, he has served on two municipal hydro boards, Sudbury Hydro and more recently, as a Public Director with Kingston Hydro. Simon is currently a municipal Councilor in the City of Kingston (2018). Formerly a member of the Parole Board of Canada, he is experienced in making risk-based decisions where he demonstrated effective interpretation and implementation of complex legislation and policy directives. Complementing his governance and board experience, Simon holds a Master of Public Administration and a certificate in Alternative Dispute Resolution. As a small business owner, he continues to operate a consulting business focused on community development projects.