Skip to main content

Université de l'Ontario français - First Board of Governors

Colleges and Universities
21 College Street, 6th floor, suite 600
Université de l'Ontario français Act, 2017, S.O. 2017, c. 34, Sched. 43 (opens a new window)

The University's special mission is to offer a range of university degrees and education in French to promote the linguistic, cultural, economic and social well-being of its students and of Ontario's French speaking community. The first board of governors is responsible for governing and managing the affairs of the University until this function can be assumed by the permanent board of governors.


For the first board, 12 members were appointed by the Minister of Colleges and Universities by regulation. Once the first board transitions to the permanent board, there will be three members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Other individuals, internal to the University, shall join the board upon being elected or appointed, including: the chancellor, the president, one senior officer appointed by the president, three elected members of the teaching staff, two elected students, and two elected non-teaching employees.


Members of the first board of governors are appointed until the first board becomes the permanent board of the university. At that time, members of the permanent board will be appointed for a term of two or three years.

The board usually meets every month or every two months.

Appointees do not receive remuneration.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) FRANCIS POMERLEAU
10-Jun-2021 - 09-Jun-2024
2. Member (Part-Time) JACQUES NAUD
10-Jun-2021 - 09-Jun-2024
3. Member (Part-Time) LOUISE HURTEAU
10-Jun-2021 - 09-Jun-2024