Skip to main content

Mining And Lands Tribunal (Ontario Land Tribunals)

Attorney General
1500 - 655 BAY STREET
(416) 212-6349
(416) 212-6349
Ministry of Natural Resources Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.31 (opens a new window)
Adjudicative Tribunals Accountability, Governance and Appointments Act, 2009, S.O. 2009, c. 33, Sched. 5, s. 15; O. Reg. 126/10 (opens a new window)

The Mining and Lands Tribunal (MLT) is an independent adjudicative tribunal responsible for hearing and deciding matters under legislation administered by the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines (MNDM) and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF). These matters can include the resolution of mining and lands disputes and appeals of decisions made by conservation authorities, which involve property owners who want to develop lands in floodplains and wetlands.


The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints two or more members, one of whom may be designated as chair. In accordance with the governance structure of the clusters, the Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint: an executive chair to be responsible for all of the adjudicative tribunals included in a cluster; an associate chair for each adjudicative tribunal that is included in a cluster; one or more of the associate chairs as alternate executive chairs of the cluster; one or more vice-chairs for each adjudicative tribunal that is included in a cluster. The executive chair and each alternate executive chair must also be members of each of the adjudicative tribunals in the cluster, and the associate chair and each vice-chair must also be members of the tribunal to which they are appointed as associate chair and vice-chair.


There is no limit in legislation.

Hearings are held in locations throughout the province during the year. Preparation time is required for meetings. Travel is also required.

Appointees are remunerated according to Schedule B of the Agencies and Appointments Directive

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Associate Chair (Part-Time) D. STEPHEN JOVANOVIC Resigned
14-Feb-2020 - 10-Jan-2022
2. Vice-Chair (Part-Time) MAUREEN HELT Resigned
14-Dec-2019 - 13-Dec-2021
3. Vice-Chair (Part-Time) KAREN RESTOULE Resigned
19-Dec-2019 - 04-Apr-2022
dokis first nation
4. Vice-Chair (Part-Time) SARAH JACOBS
03-Dec-2020 - 02-Dec-2022
5. Alternate Executive Chair (Full-Time) GREGORY BISHOP
23-Jul-2020 - 08-Jul-2021
6. Alternate Executive Chair (Full-Time) KAREN RESTOULE Resigned
17-Mar-2020 - 04-Apr-2022
dokis first nation
7. Executive Chair (Full-Time) MARIE HUBBARD
01-Jul-2020 - 30-Jun-2021