Passer au contenu principal

Aide Juridique Ontario

Ministère
Ministère Du Procureur Général
Adresse
40, RUE DUNDAS OUEST, BUREAU 200
TORONTO
M5G2H1
Téléphone
(416) 979-1446
Télécopieur
(416) 979-8669
Antécédents
Loi de 1998 sur les services d'aide juridique, chap. 26, Partie II, art. 3(1) (opens a new window)
Fonction

Aide juridique Ontario a pour mission de créer et d'administrer un système rentable et efficace visant à offrir des services d'aide juridique de qualité supérieure aux personnes à faible revenu vivant en Ontario, d'établir des politiques et des priorités visant à fournir des services d'aide juridique selon ses ressources financières, de faciliter la coordination des différentes méthodes visant à fournir ces services d'aide juridique, de surveiller et de superviser les services d'aide juridique offerts par des établissements et d'autres organismes financés par Aide juridique Ontario, de coordonner les services avec d'autres aspects du système juridique et d'autres services communautaires et, enfin, de conseiller le procureur général relativement à tous les aspects des services d'aide juridique en Ontario, dont toute caractéristique du système juridique qui touche ou peut toucher la demande et la qualité des services d'aide juridique. Les activités de l'organisme sont dirigées et gérées

Adhésion

 Le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil nomme une personne comme président, choisie par le procureur général parmi une liste de personnes recommandées par un comité constitué du procureur général ou d'une personne choisie par ce dernier, du trésorier du barreau ou d'une personne choisie par ce dernier ou par un tiers convenu par le procureur général et le trésorier du barreau ou par les personnes choisies par ces derniers; de cinq personnes choisies par le procureur général parmi une liste de personnes recommandées par le barreau et, enfin, de cinq personnes recommandées par le procureur général. Le président de l'organisme doit être un membre du conseil sans voix délibérative. Lorsqu'un poste du conseil est vacant, une personne doit être nommée afin d'occuper cette fonction en vertu de la même disposition qui avait déterminé la nomination de la personne à remplacer. Le remplaçant peut être nommé pour la durée du mandat qui reste à couvrir ou pour un mandat complet, selon le jugement du lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil.

Mandat

Le mandat est d'une durée de deux ou trois ans et il peut être reconduit. Au terme du mandat d'un membre, ce dernier peut continuer à exercer ses fonctions jusqu'à ce que son mandat soit reconduit ou que son successeur soit nommé. Le mandat d'un membre du conseil d'administration ne doit pas prendre fin avant son terme, sauf dans les cas précisés en vertu du paragraphe 73(5).

Réunions
Le Conseil d'administration se réunit tous les deux mois ou à la requête du président.
Rémunération

Les bénéficiaires d’une nomination à l’Aide juridique de l’Ontario reçoivent une indemnité quotidienne de 375 $, à l’exception du président dont le taux de rémunération est fixé par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil.

Nominations et postes vacants

No Poste Membre Mandat Emplacement
1. Présidence (Plein Temps) CHARLES HARNICK
11-avr.-2019 - 10-avr.-2021
toronto
2. Membre (Temps Partiel) CAROL HARTMAN
30-sept.-2017 - 29-sept.-2020
sudbury
3. Membre (Temps Partiel) PETER OWSIANY
31-déc.-2018 - 30-déc.-2020
newmarket
4. Membre (Temps Partiel) SEAN ROBICHAUD
31-déc.-2018 - 30-déc.-2020
sharon
5. Membre (Temps Partiel) MALCOLM HEINS
06-juin-2019 - 05-juin-2021
toronto
6. Membre (Temps Partiel) DAVID WEXLER
20-juin-2019 - 19-juin-2021
thornhill
7. Membre (Temps Partiel) JUDY MINTZ
05-mars-2020 - 04-mars-2023
toronto
8. Membre (Temps Partiel)
9. Membre (Temps Partiel)
10. Membre (Temps Partiel)
11. Membre (Temps Partiel)

Skip to main content

LEGAL AID ONTARIO

Ministry
ATTORNEY GENERAL
URL
www.legalaid.on.ca
Address
40 DUNDAS STREET WEST, SUITE 200
TORONTO
M5G2H1
Phone
(416) 979-1446
Fax
(416) 979-8669
Background
Legal Aid Services Act, 1998, S.O. 1998, c. 26, Part II, ss. 3(1)
Function

The objects of the corporation are, to establish and administer a cost-effective and efficient system for providing high quality legal aid services to low-income individuals in Ontario; to establish policies and priorities for the provision of legal aid services based on its financial resources; to facilitate co-ordination among the different methods by which legal aid services are provided; to monitor and supervise legal aid services provided by clinics and other entities funded by the corporation; to co-ordinate services with other aspects of the justice system and with community services; and to advise the Attorney General on all aspects of legal aid services in Ontario, including any features of the justice system that affect or may affect the demand for or quality of legal aid services. The affairs of the corporation are governed and managed by its board of directors.

Membership

The members of the Corporation shall consist of the members of its board of directors. The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints one person as chair, selected by the Attorney General from a list of persons recommended by a committee comprised of the Attorney General or a person designated by him or her, the Treasurer of the Law Society or a person designated by him or her and a third party agreed upon by the Attorney General and the Treasurer of the Law Society or persons designated by them; five persons selected by the Attorney General from a list of persons recommended by the Law Society; and five persons recommended by the Attorney General. The president of the corporation shall be a non-voting member of the board. If a position on the board becomes vacant, a person shall be appointed to fill the vacancy under the same provision that the person whose position is being filled was appointed and the person may be appointed for the remainder of the term of the member being replaced or for a full term, as considered appropriate by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Term

A term of office is two or three years and members are eligible for reappointment. Upon the expiry of a member's term, the member may continue in office until his or her reappointment or his or her successor is appointed. The appointment of a member of the board shall not be terminated before the end of its term except for cause or under subsection 73(5).

Meetings
The board of directors meets once every two months or at the call of the chair.
Remuneration
Appointees to Legal Aid Ontario are remunerated $375 per diem except for the Chair, who is remunerated at a rate set by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. CHAIR (FULL-TIME) CHARLES HARNICK
11-Apr-2019 - 10-Apr-2021
TORONTO
2. MEMBER (PART-TIME) W. A. DERRY MILLAR
17-Jul-2013 - 16-Jul-2016
TORONTO
3. MEMBER (PART-TIME) JAMES YAKIMOVICH
16-Sep-2015 - 15-Sep-2018
TORONTO
4. MEMBER (PART-TIME) REMY BOULBOL
08-Jan-2018 - 07-Jan-2020
WINDSOR
5. MEMBER (PART-TIME) NANCY COOPER
18-Feb-2017 - 17-Feb-2020
TIMMINS
6. MEMBER (PART-TIME) CHRISTA FREILER
22-Jul-2017 - 21-Jul-2020
GUELPH
7. MEMBER (PART-TIME) MICHEL ROBILLARD
22-Jul-2017 - 21-Jul-2020
OTTAWA
8. MEMBER (PART-TIME) CAROL HARTMAN
30-Sep-2017 - 29-Sep-2020
SUDBURY
9. MEMBER (PART-TIME) PETER OWSIANY
31-Dec-2018 - 30-Dec-2020
NEWMARKET
10. MEMBER (PART-TIME) SEAN ROBICHAUD
31-Dec-2018 - 30-Dec-2020
SHARON
11. MEMBER (PART-TIME)