Passer au contenu principal

Comité Consultatif Sur Les Nominations À La Magistrature

Ministère
Ministère Du Procureur Général
Adresse
720, rue Bay, 3ieme étage
TORONTO
M7A2S9
Téléphone
(416) 326-4060
Télécopieur
(416) 212-7316
Antécédents
Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires (opens a new window)
Fonction

Le Comité consultatif sur les nominations à la magistrature a pour mission (a) de recommander au procureur général des candidats à la nomination de juges provinciaux; et (b) de conseiller le procureur général à l’égard de la procédure de nomination des juges provinciaux conformément à la présente loi.

Adhésion

Le Comité se compose a) de deux juges provinciaux nommés par le juge en chef de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario; b) de trois avocats nommés par le procureur général, soit un avocat nommé à partir d’une liste de trois noms que lui soumet le Barreau de l’Ontario, un avocat nommé à partir d’une liste de trois noms que lui soumet l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario et un avocat nommé à partir d’une liste de trois noms que lui soumet la Fédération des Associations du Barreau de l’Ontario; c) de sept personnes qui ne sont ni des juges ni des avocats et qui sont nommées par le procureur général et, enfin, d) d'un membre du Conseil de la magistrature nommé par ce dernier. Le procureur général désigne l'un des membres comme président du Comité.

Mandat

Le mandat des membres est d'une durée de trois ans et il peut être reconduit. Le membre choisi par le procureur général pour présider le Comité a un mandat maximal de trois ans et peut siéger comme président pendant plusieurs mandats.

Réunions
Le Comité se réunit approximativement 25 fois par année.
Rémunération

Les bénéficiaires d’une nomination au Comité consultatif sur les nominations à la magistrature reçoivent l’indemnité quotidienne suivante: président: 566 $; membre: 355 $.

Nominations et postes vacants

No Poste Membre Mandat Emplacement
1. Présidence (Temps Partiel) FAREED AMIN
01-mars-2019 - 28-févr.-2022
toronto
2. Membre (Temps Partiel) C. RICHARD OATWAY
18-août-2021 - N/A
oro-medonte
3. Membre (Temps Partiel) KARIN VOGT
01-mars-2019 - 28-févr.-2022
stoney creek
4. Membre (Temps Partiel) RACHEL CURRAN
26-mars-2019 - 25-mars-2022
ottawa
5. Membre (Temps Partiel) TREVOR TOWNSEND
03-mai-2019 - 02-mai-2022
toronto
6. Membre (Temps Partiel) EDWARD LANGLEY
04-sept.-2019 - 03-sept.-2022
hamilton
7. Membre (Temps Partiel) GEEWADIN ELLIOTT
08-oct.-2020 - 07-oct.-2023
neyaashiinigmiing first nation

Skip to main content

Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee

Ministry
Attorney General
URL
www.ontariocourts.ca/ocj/jaac/
Address
McMurtry-Scott Bldg, 720 Bay Street, 3rd Floor
TORONTO
M7A2S9
Phone
(416) 326-4060
Fax
(416) 212-7316
Background
COURTS OF JUSTICE ACT (opens a new window)
Function

The functions of the Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee are to (a) recommend candidates to the Attorney General for the appointment of provincial judges; and (b) provide advice to the Attorney General respecting the process for appointing provincial judges in accordance with the Courts of Justice Act.

Membership

The committee is composed of, (a) two provincial judges, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Ontario Court of Justice; (b) three lawyers appointed by the Attorney General, one appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Law Society of Ontario, one appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Ontario Bar Association and one appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Federation of Ontario Law Associations; (c) seven persons who are neither judges nor lawyers, appointed by the Attorney General; and (d) a member of the Judicial Council, appointed by it. The Attorney General designates one of the members to chair the committee.

Term

Members serve for three years and are eligible for reappointment. The member designated by the Attorney General to chair the committee holds office for a term of up to three years and may serve for two or more terms.

Meetings
The committee meets approximately 25 times a year.
Remuneration

Appointees to the Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee are remunerated on a per diem basis as follows: Chair: $566; Member: $355.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Chair (Part-Time) FAREED AMIN
01-Mar-2019 - 28-Feb-2022
toronto
2. Member (Part-Time) C. RICHARD OATWAY
18-Aug-2021 - N/A
oro-medonte
3. Member (Part-Time) KARIN VOGT
01-Mar-2019 - 28-Feb-2022
stoney creek
4. Member (Part-Time) RACHEL CURRAN
26-Mar-2019 - 25-Mar-2022
ottawa
5. Member (Part-Time) TREVOR TOWNSEND
03-May-2019 - 02-May-2022
toronto
6. Member (Part-Time) EDWARD LANGLEY
04-Sep-2019 - 03-Sep-2022
hamilton
7. Member (Part-Time) GEEWADIN ELLIOTT
08-Oct-2020 - 07-Oct-2023
neyaashiinigmiing first nation