Skip to main content

Nawiinginokiima Forest Management Corporation

Natural Resources and Forestry
14 Hemlo Drive
(807) 229-8118
Ontario Forest Tenure Modernization Act, 2011, S.O. 2011, c. 10, ss. 3(1) (opens a new window)
Ontario Forest Tenure Modernization Act, 2011, S.O. 2011, c. 10, ss. 3(1); O. Reg. 111/12, s. 1 (opens a new window)

The local forest management corporation is responsible to: 1. Hold forest resource licences and manage Crown forests in a manner necessary to provide for the sustainability of Crown forests in accordance with the Crown Forest Sustainability Act, 1994 and to promote the sustainability of Crown forests; 2. Provide for economic development opportunities for aboriginal peoples; 3. Manage its affairs to become a self-sustaining business entity and to optimize the value from Crown forest resources while recognizing the importance of local economic development; 4. Market, sell and enable access to a predictable and competitively priced supply of Crown forest resources; 5. Carry out such other objects as may be prescribed by regulation.



The affairs of the local forest management corporation are under the management and control of its board of directors. The corporation consists of no more than twelve (12) members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, or such number as may be prescribed, who form the board of directors of the corporation. The Lieutenant Governor in Council designates one of the members as chair and at least one member as vice-chair.


The members are appointed for a term of office at the pleasure of the Lieutenant Governor in Council (to date the initial appointment it has been for 3 years).

The board meets three to four times each year.

Appointees are remunerated according to Schedule A, Level 2 of the Agencies and Appointments Directive.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Chair (Part-Time) LAIRD VAN DAMME
20-Aug-2023 - 19-Aug-2025
thunder bay
2. Vice-Chair (Part-Time) ADAM BROWN
02-Jul-2023 - 01-Jul-2025
3. Member (Part-Time) JULIE ROYWARD
02-May-2022 - 01-May-2025
4. Member (Part-Time) TINA FORSYTH
28-Jun-2023 - 27-Jun-2025
5. Member (Part-Time) GRANT GOODWIN
30-Jul-2023 - 29-Jun-2025
6. Member (Part-Time) JESSE GAUDETTE
06-Aug-2023 - 05-Aug-2026
pic mobert
7. Member (Part-Time) JOANNE MICHANO
06-Aug-2023 - 05-Aug-2026