Skip to main content

Council of the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario

(416) 591-3828
(416) 591-3834
Physiotherapy Act, S.O. 1991, C. 37, S. 5 (opens a new window)
Regulated Health Professions Act, S.O. 1991, c. 18, Sched. 2 (opens a new window)

The college regulates the profession of Physiotherapy in the public interest by ensuring that individuals have access to services provided by competent health professionals, and that individuals are treated with sensitivity and respect in their dealings with health professionals. Members of the college are governed in accordance with the Physiotherapy Act, 1991 the Health Professions Procedural Code, the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 and the regulations and by-laws of the college. The college develops and maintains standards of practice, entry to practice requirements, standards of professional ethics, and promotes and develops standards for continuing competence among the members. Various committees of the College of Physiotherapists function in a quasi-judicial role with respect to the suspension and revocations of certificates of registration to practice in Ontario.


Between seven and eight members who are elected in accordance with the by-laws by the members of the college. Between five and seven members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who are not, members of the college, members of a college as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 or members of a council as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991. One or two members are selected, in accordance with a by-law under section 11, from among members who are members of a faculty of physiotherapy or physical therapy of a university in Ontario. The council elects annually a president and vice-president from among the members.


There is no limitation in legislation.

• Council meets 4 times per year for 2-day consecutive full day meetings. These are hybrid meetings that can be attended virtually or in-person. Preparation time is 6.5 hours per meeting. • The College has established a voluntary principal that requires at least one public appointee serve on every committee and task force. • In addition to serving on Council, Public appointees are assigned to serve on two to three Committees. o Executive Committee: 4 meetings per year; 1 full day meeting held hybrid. Prep: 5 hours per meeting o Registration Committee: 10 meetings per year (approximately every 6 weeks); 3-hour meetings held virtually. Prep: 1-3 hours per meeting. o Quality Assurance Committee: 7 meetings per year (every 4-6 weeks); 2–3-hour meetings held virtually. Prep: 2-3 hours per meeting. o Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee: 9-11 meetings a year; 1 full day meeting held virtually or hybrid. Prep: 6–8-hours per meeting. o Patient Relations Committee : 4 meetings per year plus additional 1-hour meetings as needed; half day meetings held virtually. Prep: 1-hour per meeting. o Finance Committee : 6 meetings per year; 5 half day and 1 full day held virtually. Prep: 3-hours per meeting. o Discipline and Fitness to Practise: The number of hearings held each year will vary and not every member of the committee participates in each hearing. Hearings can be 1 full day or consecutive full day meetings (usually between 3-5 days). Hearings may be held by virtually or in person at the College. Public appointees can expect to participate in 10 or more hearings days (full day) and about 1 hour of prep and post hearing work for each hearing. Public appointees can also expect there to be around 12 hours of learning activities spread out throughout the year in the form of virtual training sessions and completion of eLearning modules. • Public appointees can expect to serve 28 to 40 days per year, depending on the number of committee assignments and discipline hearing appointments.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) TYRONE SKANES
24-Mar-2020 - 23-Mar-2023
2. Member (Part-Time) NITIN MADHVANI
06-Dec-2020 - 05-Dec-2023
3. Member (Part-Time) JESSE FINN
14-Feb-2021 - 13-Feb-2024
4. Member (Part-Time) RICHARD O'BRIEN
29-Jul-2021 - 28-Jul-2024
5. Member (Part-Time) LAINA SMITH
17-Feb-2022 - 16-Feb-2025
6. Member (Part-Time) CAROLE BAXTER
13-May-2022 - 12-May-2025