Skip to main content

Council of the College of Nurses of Ontario

(416) 928-0900
(416) 928-6507
Nursing Act, S.O. 1991, C. 32, S. 6 (opens a new window)
Regulated Health Professions Act, S.O. 1991, c. 18, Sched. 2 (opens a new window)

The college regulates the profession of Nursing in the public interest by ensuring that individuals have access to services provided by competent health professionals, and that individuals are treated with sensitivity and respect in their dealings with health professionals. Members of the college are governed in accordance with the Nursing Act, 1991, the Health Professions Procedural Code, the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 and the regulations and by-laws of the college. The college develops and maintains standards of practice, entry to practice requirements, standards of professional ethics, and promotes and develops standards for continuing competence among the members. Various committees of the College of Nurses function in a quasi-judicial role with respect to the suspension and revocations of certificates of registration to practice in Ontario.


Nurse (elected) members of the council are divided into two classes, registered nurses and registered practical nurses. Twenty-one members are elected in accordance with the by-laws, fourteen from among members who are registered nurses and seven from among members who are registered practical nurses, by the members of the college. At least fourteen and no more than eighteen members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who are not members of the college, members of a college as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 or members of a council as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991. The council elects annually a president and two vice-presidents. One vice-president shall be a registered nurse and the other a registered practical nurse.


There is no limitation in legislation.

• Council meets quarterly for 1-2 days. Most meetings are held remotely. (6 – 8 meeting days, 12 days including preparation) • All public appointees serve on either the Discipline/Fitness to Practise committees or ICRC. Many also serve on a second statutory committee. Most meetings and hearings are held remotely. Approximate time commitments are: o Executive/Patient Relations – ½ day every quarter, ½ day preparation (2 meeting days, 4 days including preparation) o ICRC – 1.5 days a month, 2 - 4 days of preparation, 2 days for orientation (20 meeting days, 56 days including preparation) o QA – ½ day every other month, ¼ - ½ day preparation, part day for orientation (3.5 meeting days, 7 days including preparation) o Registration – ½-day meeting every other month , 1.5 days preparation for ½-day meeting, 1.5 days for orientation (4.5 meeting days, 13.5 days including preparation) Discipline and Fitness to Practise (all members serve on both committees) – 5 or more days a month, some hearings are 3-4 days in a row, 1 – 2 days orientation, attendance at HPRO workshop for first-time committee members, some additional days for members who take on decision-writer role (60 meeting days, 63 days including preparation) • Public appointees may also serve on 1 of 3 standing committees (Finance; Conduct; Nominating). o Finance – ½ day every quarter (same day as Exec) o Nominating – 2-3 ½ day meetings o Conduct – if required

Appointees are remunerated according to Schedule A, Level 1 of the Agencies and Appointments Directive.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) CAROLYN HOURIGAN
20-Feb-2021 - 19-Feb-2024
2. Member (Part-Time) IAN MCKINNON
24-Apr-2021 - 23-Apr-2024
3. Member (Part-Time) ANDREA ARKELL
04-Jun-2021 - 03-Jun-2024
4. Member (Part-Time) JO ANN (JAY) ARMITAGE
04-Jun-2021 - 03-Jun-2024
5. Member (Part-Time) LALITHA POONASAMY
06-Jun-2021 - 05-Jun-2024
6. Member (Part-Time) SANDRA LARMOUR
02-Sep-2021 - 01-Sep-2024
7. Member (Part-Time) MARNIE MACDOUGALL
05-Nov-2021 - 04-Nov-2024
8. Member (Part-Time) JOE FARAG
01-Dec-2023 - 30-Nov-2024
9. Member (Part-Time) TIMOTHY CROWDER
15-Apr-2022 - 14-Apr-2025
10. Member (Part-Time) FIDELIA OSIME
13-May-2022 - 12-May-2025
11. Member (Part-Time) DIANE THOMPSON
01-Jun-2022 - 31-May-2025
moose creek
12. Member (Part-Time) MARIA SHECULSKI
01-Jun-2022 - 31-May-2025
13. Member (Part-Time) SYLVIA DOUGLAS
06-Jun-2022 - 05-Jun-2025
north york
14. Member (Part-Time) DIANE SCOTT
04-May-2023 - 03-May-2026
15. Member (Part-Time)
16. Member (Part-Time)