Skip to main content

Council of the College of Dental Technologists of Ontario

305 Milner Avenue, Suite 904
(416) 438-5003
(416) 438-5004
Dental Technology Act, S.O. 1991, C. 23, S. 4 (opens a new window)
Regulated Health Professions Act, S.O. 1991, c. 18, Sched. 2 (opens a new window)

The college regulates the profession of Dental Technology in the public interest by ensuring that individuals have access to services provided by competent health professionals, and that individuals are treated with sensitivity and respect in their dealings with health professionals. Members of the college are governed in accordance with the Dental Technology Act, 1991, the Health Professions Procedural Code, the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 and the regulations and by-laws of the college. The college develops and maintains standards of practice, entry to practice requirements, standards of professional ethics, and promotes and develops standards for continuing competence among the members. Various committees of the College of Dental Technologists function in a quasi-judicial role with respect to the suspension and revocations of certificates of registration to practice in Ontario.


Seven members are elected in accordance with the by-laws by the members of the college. At least five and no more than six members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who are not members of the college, members of a college as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 or members of a council as defined in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991. The council elects annually a president and vice-president from among the members.


There is no limitation in legislation.

• There are usually 6 Council meetings per year (full days). • Public appointees are assigned to at least 1 statutory committee and as many as 3 if their time commitment permits. o Council – 6 meetings per year (full days). o Executive Committee - meets 6 to7 times per year (full or half days). o Examination Committee – meets 3 to 4 times per year (half days) (Non-Statutory Committee) o Registration Committee – meets 3 to 4 times per year (half days) o Quality Assurance Committee - meet 6 times per year (full or half days) o Patient Relations Committee - meets 2 to 3 days per year (half days) o Fitness to Practise – meets as needed (half days) o ICRC Committee – meets 4 to 8 times as needed (half days) o Discipline Committee – meets as needed (full days)

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) MAGED ASAAD
29-Aug-2019 - 28-Aug-2022
2. Member (Part-Time) POONAM SINGH
09-Apr-2021 - 08-Apr-2024
3. Member (Part-Time) ALLISON MALLOY
29-Jul-2021 - 28-Jul-2024
4. Member (Part-Time) ROBERT SHAWYER
28-Nov-2021 - 27-Nov-2024
5. Member (Part-Time) REHAN SIDDIQUI
10-Dec-2021 - 09-Dec-2024
6. Member (Part-Time) ASIF KHAN
17-Feb-2022 - 16-Feb-2025