Passer au contenu principal

Office Ontarien De Réglementation Des Services Financiers

Ministère
Ministère Des Finances
URL
http://www.fsrao.ca/fr
Adresse
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
TORONTO
M2N6L9
Téléphone
416-250-7250
Télécopieur
(416) 327-2488
Antécédents
Loi de 2016 sur l’Office ontarien de réglementation des services financiers, L.O. 2016, chap. 37, annexe 8, art. 2 (opens a new window)
Loi de 2016 sur l’Office ontarien de réglementation des services financiers, L.O. 2016, chap. 37, annexe 8, art. 2 (opens a new window)
Fonction

L’Office ontarien de réglementation des services financiers (Office) est une société sans capital-actions et un mandataire de la Couronne créé en vertu de la Loi qui a pour mission de réglementer les secteurs réglementés. Les secteurs réglementés comprennent les credit unions, les caisses populaires et les fédérations visées par la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions; les personnes qui effectuent des opérations d’assurance et qui sont régies par la Loi sur les assurances; les titulaires d’un permis de fournisseur de services délivré en application de la partie VI (Assurance-automobile) de la Loi sur les assurances; les sociétés constituées ou enregistrées en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie; les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les courtiers en hypothèques, les agents en hypothèques et les administrateurs d’hypothèques qui sont titulaires d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques; les personnes qui mettent sur pied ou administrent un régime de retraite au sens de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite et les employeurs ou d’autres personnes en leur nom qui sont tenus de contribuer à ce régime de retraite, ainsi que tout secteur assujetti à toute loi prescrite. L’un des objets de l’Office consiste à exercer, à l’égard des prospectus des sociétés coopératives, les pouvoirs ou fonctions prévus par la Loi sur les sociétés coopératives qui lui sont délégués ou assignés par le ministre. La réglementation qui régit l’Office confère divers pouvoirs et fonctions au directeur général, qui est un employé de l’Office nommé par celui-ci.

Adhésion

Les membres de l’Office sont les membres de son conseil d’administration. Le conseil d’administration se compose d’au moins trois et d’au plus 11 administrateurs. Chaque administrateur est nommé par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil, qui désigne aussi un administrateur à la présidence, sur recommandation du ministre.

Mandat

Le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil fixe la durée du mandat du président, laquelle ne peut dépasser celle de son mandat d’administrateur.

Réunions
Le conseil d’administration se réunit au moins six fois par année. Le président dirige toutes les réunions du conseil mais, en cas d’absence du président, le vice-président dirige les réunions. En cas d’absence du président et du vice-président, les administrateurs présents choisissent un des administrateurs pour présider la réunion et y exercer les pouvoirs du président. La majorité des membres du conseil d’administration constitue le quorum.
Rémunération

Les membres du conseil d’administration reçoivent l’indemnité quotidienne qui suit : président : 744 $; membres autres que le président : 472 $.

Nominations et postes vacants

No Poste Membre Mandat Emplacement
1. Présidence (Temps Partiel) BRYAN DAVIES
28-juin-2020 - 27-juin-2021
toronto
2. Membre (Temps Partiel) KATHRYN A. BOUEY
28-juin-2019 - 27-juin-2021
toronto
3. Membre (Temps Partiel) BRENT ZORGDRAGER
26-juil.-2019 - 25-juil.-2021
kitchener
4. Membre (Temps Partiel) JOANNE DELAURENTIIS
26-juil.-2019 - 25-juil.-2021
toronto
5. Membre (Temps Partiel) LAWRENCE RITCHIE
12-mars-2020 - 11-mars-2022
toronto
6. Membre (Temps Partiel) BRIGID MURPHY
28-févr.-2020 - 27-févr.-2023
toronto
7. Membre (Temps Partiel) GARTH BLAIR COWPER-SMITH
28-févr.-2020 - 27-févr.-2023
toronto
8. Membre (Temps Partiel) JOSEPH IANNICELLI
09-avr.-2020 - 08-avr.-2023
oakville
9. Membre (Temps Partiel) STEWART LYONS
22-oct.-2020 - 21-oct.-2023
toronto
10. Membre (Temps Partiel) DEXTER JOHN
07-janv.-2021 - 06-janv.-2024
whitby

Skip to main content

Financial Services Regulatory Authority Of Ontario

Ministry
Finance
URL
http://www.fsrao.ca/en/
Address
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
TORONTO
M2N6L9
Phone
416-250-7250
Fax
(416) 327-2488
Background
Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario Act, 2016, S.O. 2016, C.37, Sched. 8, S. 2 (opens a new window)
Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997, S.O. 1997, C. 28, S.2 (opens a new window)
Function

The Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (Authority) is a without share capital corporation and Crown agent established under the Act whose objects are to regulate the regulated sectors. Regulated sectors consist of all credit unions, caisses populaires and leagues to which the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 applies; all persons engaged in the business of insurance and governed by the Insurance Act; all holders of a service provider's licence issued under Part VI (Automobile Insurance) of the Insurance Act; all corporations registered or incorporated under the Loan and Trust Corporations Act; all mortgage brokerages, brokers, agents and administrators licensed under the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006; or all persons who establish or administer a pension plan within the meaning of the Pension Benefits Act and all employers or other persons on their behalf who are required to contribute to any such pension plan, and such other legislation as may be prescribed. The Authority’s objects also include carrying out powers or duties with respect to offering statements of co-operative corporations under the Co-operative Corporations Act, that are delegated or designated to the Authority by the Minister.  The Authority-related legislation gives various approval and licensing duties and powers to the Chief Executive Officer, an employee of the Authority appointed by the Authority.

Membership

The members of the Authority consist of the members of its board of directors. The board of directors consists of at least three and not more than eleven directors. The directors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who also designates a director as chair of the board of directors, on the recommendation of the Minister.

Term

The chair holds office for the term specified by the Lieutenant Governor in Council which shall not exceed his or her term as a director.

Meetings
There shall be at least six meetings per year of the Board of Directors. The chair presides at all meetings but, if at any meeting the chair is absent, the vice-chair presides. However, if neither the chair nor vice-chair is present, the directors present choose one of the directors to preside and exercise the powers of the chair at that meeting. A majority of the members of the board of directors constitutes a quorum.
Remuneration

Appointees to the Board are remunerated on a per diem basis as follows: chair: $744; other appointees who are not the chair: $472

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Chair (Part-Time) JOANNE DELAURENTIIS
28-Jun-2021 - 27-Jun-2024
toronto
2. Member (Part-Time) LAWRENCE RITCHIE
12-Mar-2020 - 11-Mar-2022
toronto
3. Member (Part-Time) GARTH BLAIR COWPER-SMITH
28-Feb-2020 - 27-Feb-2023
toronto
4. Member (Part-Time) JOSEPH IANNICELLI
09-Apr-2020 - 08-Apr-2023
oakville
5. Member (Part-Time) STEWART LYONS
22-Oct-2020 - 21-Oct-2023
toronto
6. Member (Part-Time) DEXTER JOHN
07-Jan-2021 - 06-Jan-2024
whitby
7. Member (Part-Time) KATHRYN A. BOUEY
28-Jun-2021 - 27-Jun-2024
toronto
8. Member (Part-Time) BRENT ZORGDRAGER
26-Jul-2021 - 25-Jul-2024
kitchener
9. Member (Part-Time) BARBARA BELLISSIMO
12-Aug-2021 - 11-Aug-2024
vaughan
10. Member (Part-Time)