Public Appointments Secretariat Banner

Frequently Asked Questions

What does an appointment involve?

Most appointments are part-time and require approximately two to three days per month plus time to read reports and prepare for meetings. Information on the time commitment involved can be found in the description of individual provincial agencies and other entities on this site.


How do I apply?

Anyone wishing to apply for an appointment can apply online or download an application form and mail or fax their application to the Public Appointments Secretariat. The application process can be found on this site under "How to Apply" link.


Where do I find out about vacancies?

The site provides a list of current and upcoming vacancies for the next four months. When reviewing the list it is important to keep in mind that not all positions on the list will result in new appointments. Some members' terms may be renewed. Fewer appointees may be required due to a change in agency requirements. In addition, the agency's legislation may stipulate composition, affiliation or recommending organization.


What happens after I submit my application?

The Public Appointments Secretariat will keep your information on file for a period of three years. During this time, you will be considered for the position(s) in which you have expressed an interest as openings occur.

If your application is short-listed, you will be contacted to confirm your interest and asked to submit a Personal and Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement.

^Top of page


Why are some positions advertised on the site and others only appear on the upcoming vacancy list?

Significant positions such as Chairs and full-time members of adjudicative or regulatory agencies often require specific skills and expertise. These positions are advertised to highlight and attract candidates with those skills and experience.

However, applications for all positions are accepted on an ongoing basis. If you have previously submitted an application for a position on a provincial agency or other entity that is subsequently advertised, your application will be included in the competition for the advertised position.

^Top of page


Will I have to appear before the Standing Committee on Government Agencies?

The Public Appointments Secretariat submits information on all intended Order in Council appointments (excluding appointments for a term of one year or less) to the Standing Committee on Government Agencies. The Committee may request your appearance to discuss your qualifications.

^Top of page


How long does an appointment last?

In some cases, the provincial agencies' or other entities' enabling legislation stipulates the term of appointment. As a general rule, appointments are for a three-year term. There may also be an opportunity to renew the appointment.

^Top of page


Will I be paid?

Approximately half of the appointments carry some level of remuneration. Out-of-pocket expenses are usually reimbursed.

^Top of page


Where do I find information about the responsibilities and qualifications of positions in provincial agencies or other entities?

The Ontario.ca/AgencyGovernance link contains a generic set of position descriptions and core competencies for Ontario's regulatory, adjudicative or operational agencies (Board of Directors).

^Top of page


How many provincial agencies, boards, commissions and other entities are there?

There are currently over 540 provincial agencies and other entities.

^Top of page


How many provincial government appointees are serving on provincial agencies, boards, commissions and other entities?

There are approximately 3700 provincial appointees serving.

^Top of page

Image de la Bannière du Secrétariat des nominations

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Que suppose une nomination?

La plupart des nominations sont à des postes à temps partiel et exigent deux ou trois jours par mois, plus le temps nécessaire à la lecture des rapports et à la préparation des réunions. La description des organismes provinciaux et d’autres entités particuliers, sur le présent site, vous renseignera sur le temps à consacrer.

^Dessus


Comment soumettre une demande?

Quiconque veut soumettre une demande de nomination peut le faire en ligne ou télécharger une formule de demande, puis la poster ou la télécopier au Secrétariat des nominations. Le processus de demande figure à la rubrique intitulée «  Comment soumettre une demande » du présent site.

^Dessus


Où puis me renseigner au sujet des postes vacants?

Le présent site renferme une liste des postes vacants et une liste des postes qui deviendront vacants au cours des quatre prochains mois. En examinant cette liste, il est important de vous souvenir que ce ne sont pas tous les postes inscrits qui engendreront la nomination de nouvelles personnes. Comme les exigences des organismes et entités peuvent changer, il n'y a peut-être pas lieu de procéder à des nominations pour tous les postes. De plus, la législation régissant l'organisme peut stipuler la composition, les affiliations nécessaires et les genres d'organismes qui peuvent soumettre des candidatures.

^Dessus


Que se passe-t-il une fois que j'ai soumis ma demande?

Le Secrétariat des nominations garde vos renseignements en dossier durant trois ans. Pendant ce temps, on tiendra compte de vous quant au(x) poste(s) pour le(s)quel(s) vous avez exprimé de l'intérêt, à mesure qu'il y aura des postes à pourvoir.

Si vous faites partie de la liste des candidates et candidats sélectionnés, on communiquera avec vous pour confirmer votre intérêt et vous demander de soumettre une Divulgation d'intérêts personnels et de conflit d'intérêts.

^Dessus


Pourquoi certains postes sont-ils annoncés sur le site, tandis que d'autres n'apparaissent que sur la liste des postes à combler prochainement?

Les postes importants comme ceux des présidents ou présidentes des organismes ainsi que des membres à temps complet des organismes d'arbitrage ou de réglementation exigent souvent une expertise et des compétences précises. Nous annonçons ces postes pour mettre en lumière et attirer les candidats et candidates qui possèdent cette expérience et ces compétences.

Cependant, nous acceptons continuellement les demandes relativement à tous les postes. Si vous avez antérieurement soumis une demande quant à un poste au sein d'un organisme provincial ou d’une autre entité qu'on annonce ensuite, votre demande sera incluse dans le concours du poste annoncé.

^Dessus


Devrais-je comparaître devant le Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux?

Le Secrétariat des nominations soumet au Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux des renseignements quant à toutes les nominations qu'on prévoit faire par décret en conseil (sauf celles supposant un mandat d'un an ou moins). Le comité peut vous demander de comparaître pour discuter de vos qualités.

^Dessus


Pendant combien de temps s'applique une nomination?

Dans certains cas, la loi habilitante de l'organisme provincial ou d’une autre entité stipule le mandat de la nomination. Ce dernier est généralement de trois ans. Il peut être possible de renouveler la nomination.

^Dessus


Serais-je rémunéré?

À peu près la moitié des nominations s'accompagnent d'un certain degré de rémunération. Les menues dépenses sont généralement remboursées.

^Dessus


Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur les responsabilités des postes dans les organismes provinciaux et d’autres entités et les qualifications demandées?

Le lien Ontario.ca/GouvernancedesOrganismes contient un ensemble générique de descriptions de poste et de compétences de base pour les organismes de réglementation, de décision et opérationnels de l'Ontario (conseil d'administration).

^Dessus


Combien y a-t-il d'organismes provinciaux, de conseils, de commissions et d’autres entités?

Il y a actuellement plus de 540 organismes provinciaux et autres entités.

^Dessus


Combien y a-t-il de personnes nommées par le gouvernement provincial qui siègent à des organismes provinciaux, des conseils et des commissions et à d’autres entités?

Il y a environ 3 700 personnes nommées par le gouvernement provincial qui siègent à des organismes.

^Dessus