Skip to main content

Appointee Biographies

Portable Benefits Advisory Committee


Susan McArthur is co-founder and executive chair of LockDocs Inc., a start-up focused on digital identity as a service. She was previously a Managing Partner at GreenSoil Investments, a VC firm focused on investing in real estate technology and agro food technology. Ms. McArthur recently Chaired the Ontario Workforce Recovery Advisory Committee and has 25 years of international and domestic investment banking experience. Ms. McArthur is a director of Great West Lifeco, Canada Life, IGM, IG Wealth Management and Mackenzie Inc. Ms McArthur's former board positions include trustee of Chemtrade Logistics Income Fund, as Chair of the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management, director Power Financial and First Capital Realty Inc - selected not for profit boards include The Atlantic Salmon Federation, True Patriot Love Foundation and the Canadian Club of Toronto. Ms. McArthur is a graduate in Political Science from Western University and completed the ICD course at U of T.


Allan Shapira is a Senior Partner and the Managing Director of Aon's Wealth Solutions business in Canada. In addition, he consults with organizations in both the private and public sectors on the design, financing and administration of their retirem ent and benefit programs, we he has done over his 45-year career at Aon. Allan is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries. Allan has served as the Chair of the Actuarial Advisory Committee to the then Financial Services Commission of Ontario, as a member of the Ontario Minister of Finance's Advisory Council on Pensions and Retirement Income, and as a member of the Ontario Ministry of Finance's Stakeholder Reference Group established in connection with Ontario's review of the solvency funding framework for defined benefit plans. Allan also served as the actuarial advisor to the Ontario Ministry of Finance in its discussions in 2016 with the Federal Government on the enhancements to the Canada Pension Plan.


Marlayna Perrone, of Mississauga, is Administrative Manager with InVintory Wines, managing an online database. Mr. Perrone community involvement is currently on the Portable Benefits Advisory Committee.


Sunil Johal is a policy expert with a track record of executive-level experience addressing challenging issues. In his current role he is the Vice President, Public Policy at the CSA Group. He is also the David and Ann Wilson Professor in Public Policy and Society at Victoria College, University of Toronto. In 2021, he served as Special Advisor to the Deputy Ministers at Employment and Social Development Canada, where he led the department's medium-term planning activities. Sunil was Policy Director at the University of Toronto’s Mowat Centre from 2012 to 2019, where he led the Centre’s research activities and established himself as a thought leader on issues such as the future of work. In February 2019, he was named Chair of the Expert Panel on Modern Labour Standards by the federal Minister of Labour. He holds degrees from LSE, Osgoode Hall Law School and the University of Western Ontario.


Bradley Nicpon is a partner in McCarthy Tétrault’s Real Property & Planning Group in Toronto. His practice focuses on infrastructure, construction, energy, real estate development and public-private partnerships. Brad has advised on and led infrastructure transactions around the world. His experience includes the drafting and negotiating of legal arrangements to construct, operate, finance, purchase and sell infrastructure assets across various classes, including energy generation & transmission, hospitals, law enforcement, sporting facilities, and transit/transportation projects. Brad received an LL.B. from Osgoode Hall Law School in 2007, an M.Sc. in Political Theory from the London School of Economics in 2004 and a B.Sc. (Hons) in Genetics and Political Science from the University of Western Ontario in 2003. Brad qualified as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Province of Ontario in 2008, and as a Solicitor of the Senior Courts of England and Wales in 2016.