Skip to main content

Niagara College of Applied Arts and Technology - Board of Governors

Colleges and Universities
300 Woodlawn Road
Welland ON
(905) 735-2211
(905) 736-6004
Ontario Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Act, 2002 , S.O. 2002, c. 8, ss. 2(1.1) (opens a new window)
O. Reg. 34/03, ss. 2(1) (opens a new window)

The mandate for Ontario's Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology is to offer a comprehensive program of career-oriented, postsecondary education and training to assist individuals in finding and keeping employment, to meet the needs of employers and the changing work environment and to support the economic and social needs of their local and diverse communities.

The board of governors of each college has been authorized to govern the college and is responsible for ensuring that it is effectively and appropriately managed to achieve this mandate. The board of governors is responsible for defining the role and mission of the college and, thereby, setting the strategic directions for the college to achieve. The board of governors has responsibility for fiduciary oversight and institutional performance.


The board of governors is composed of seventeen members including: four members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council; the president of the college; one elected student; one elected academic staff member; one elected administrative staff member; one elected support staff member; and eight members appointed by the members of the board holding office at the time of the appointment.


A member of the board of governors, other than a member elected by the students, shall hold office for a term not to exceed three years and shall not serve for more than six years consecutively. Members are eligible for reappointment or re-election, as the case may be, after two years absence from the board for successive terms not to exceed six years in total.

Board meets bi-monthly (except July and August).

Appointees do not receive remuneration.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) CAROLYN HURST
20-Nov-2020 - 31-Aug-2023
jordan station
2. Member (Part-Time) JANET ALLAN
26-Nov-2020 - 31-Aug-2023
st. catharines
3. Member (Part-Time) MICHAEL MANN
12-Nov-2020 - 31-Aug-2023
4. Member (Part-Time) ROBERT NICHOLSON
20-Oct-2022 - 31-Aug-2025
niagara falls