Skip to main content

Ontario College Of Art And Design University Board Of Governors

Colleges and Universities
100 McCaul Street
Toronto Ont.
(416) 977-6000
(416) 977-6006
Ontario College of Art & Design University Act, 2002, S.O. 2002, c. 8, Sched. E, ss. 2(1) (opens a new window)

The objective of the college and its board of governors is to provide the opportunity and environment for advanced, studio-based education in art and design at the undergraduate and graduate levels and to support teaching, research and professional practice in these fields.


 The board of governors consists of, a) the president of the college, by virtue of office; b) six members, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, who are neither students nor employees of the college; and c) such other members as may be set out in the by-laws of the college so long as at least a majority of the members of the board are persons who are neither students nor employees of the college. The board annually elects a chair and vice-chair from among the members who are not students or employees of the college and shall fill any vacancy in the office of the chair or vice-chair from among such members. The chair shall preside over the meetings of the board and, if the chair is unable to act or if the position is vacant, the vice-chair shall act in his or her place, and if both the chair and vice-chair are unable to act, the board may appoint a member who is not a student or employee of the college to act temporarily in their place.


The term of office for each member of the board, other than the president, shall be not more than three years, as determined by by-law, and each member is eligible for reappointment or re-election. A person may not be a member of the board for more than six consecutive years, but is eligible for reappointment or re-election after one year's absence from the board.

The full council meets monthly. There is also one subcommittee meeting a month.

Appointees are eligible to receive expenses.

Appointments & Vacancies

No. Position Member Term Location
1. Member (Part-Time) LALIT GUGLANI
25-Mar-2020 - 24-Mar-2023
2. Member (Part-Time) DAVID BELOUS
08-Apr-2021 - 07-Apr-2024
3. Member (Part-Time) DAVID BINET
31-Dec-2021 - 30-Dec-2024
4. Member (Part-Time) HILLARY MARSHALL
28-Apr-2022 - 27-Apr-2025
5. Member (Part-Time) COLLEEN MCCLEERY
09-May-2022 - 08-May-2025
6. Member (Part-Time)