Public Appointments Secretariat Banner

Agency Members Biographies


Donald Scott is Principal of Cuesta Planning Consultants, which was established in 1992. Mr. Scott was Director of the Planning and Economic Development Department for Bruce County from 1979-1992. In addition, he was Chair of the Municipal Advisory Committee to the Niagara Escarpment Commission during the comprehensive Five Year Review of the Niagara Escarpment Plan from 1990-1994.

From 1989 until his retirement in 1997, Nars Borodczak, of Oakville, was Director and Chief Administrative Officer of the Niagara Escarpment Commission. Prior to his work with the commission, Mr. Borodczak was Senior Assistant Director with the Ministry of the Environment. He holds a Master of Science from the University of Waterloo and a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from the University of Toronto.

Don Alexander is a TV-video producer, writer and cameraperson. His work has included a variety of subjects including eco-tourism, agriculture, water-quality, art videos and biographies. Previously, Mr. Alexander was a Program Manager of an Ontario television station. Mr. Alexander has worked in both the Niagara and Bruce Peninsula areas and was accredited by the Canadian Public Relations Society, having served as an Information Officer with the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority in the Niagara Peninsula. He was a member of the Niagara Region Planning and Development Committee.

Georgina Beattie taught elementary school in Wentworth County and spent many years in the fruit farm supply business in Winona. Ms. Beattie was a City of Stoney Creek Councillor, a member of the Stoney Creek Committee of Adjustment and a member of the Conservation Foundation for the Hamilton Region Conservation Authority. Her community involvement includes the Winona Horticultural Society, Fifty United Church and the Winona Peach Festival, which she has participated with since 1967.

Joan Little is a regular freelance columnist on Burlington and Halton issues of the Hamilton Spectator. Ms. Little was member of the Burlington Council and Halton Regional Council between 1974 and 1988. She was a Board member of Conservation Halton, a member of the Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital Board and was Chair of the Niagara Escarpment Commission from 1993 to 1996.

Cecil Louis is a registered professional planner and a retired member of the Ontario Professional Planners Institute and the Canadian Institute of Planners. He has been a member of the Niagara Escarpment Commission (NEC) since 2004. Mr. Louis was previously on staff at the NEC, retiring in 1997 as Assistant Director. He also served as Manager of Plan Preparation, heading a group responsible for the preparation, presentation at hearings, and eventual implementation of the Niagara Escarpment Plan. He also supervised the first five year review of the Plan.

Allan Elgar retired from a thirty-year career as a Financial/Administration Manager with Bell Canada. Mr. Elgar is a member of the Halton Regional Council, representing Oakville and serves on the Board of Directors for Conservation Halton, the Credit Valley Conservation Authority and is the regional representative on Halton's Ecological and Environmental Advisory Committee. He was founding President of Oakvillegreen Conservation Association Inc., a grassroots environmental group seeking to preserve green space in Oakville.

From 1974 until 2007, Corwin T. Cambray, of St. Catharines, was employed with the Regional Municipality of Niagara, where he advanced from Head of Policy Planning to Commissioner of Planning and Development. Prior to his work with the municipality, Mr. Cambray was a private consultant. He holds a Master of Arts and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Waterloo.

Shawn Davidson is a Councillor for the Township of Clearview in Simcoe County and part owner of the Carruthers & Davidson Funeral Home, with locations in Stayner and Wasaga Beach. Mr. Davidson is Chair of the Planning and Development Committee, Transportation Task Force and is a member of a number of municipal committees. He has served as President of the Chamber of Commerce and President of Lions Clubs International.

Brian Baty has been a Niagara Regional Councillor for the Town of Pelham since 2003. He is currently a member of the Greater Niagara Circle Route Committee, a former Co-Chair of the Public Health & Social Services Committee and a former Chair of Regional Niagara Bicycling Committee. Mr. Baty is a member and a former Vice-Chair of the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Dalhousie University, a Master of Education degree from Niagara University and a Bachelor of Education degree from Brock University.

Paul McQueen operates a cow/calf business on the McQueen Homestead Farm. He also runs a contracting business that he founded in 1995. In 1994 Mr. McQueen became a Councillor for Osprey Township and sat on many committees and boards including the Collingwood Hospital Board. He was a Director on the Collingwood Hospital Board from 1994 to 2007, having served a maximum term. After the amalgamation of Osprey Township into the Municipality of Grey Highlands, he served two terms as Councillor and was recently elected Deputy Mayor. Mr. McQueen serves on many boards and committees, including serving as the Chair of the Grey Highlands Committee of Adjustment.

Arlene VanderBeek is a Municipal Councillor for the City of Hamilton. She is also a former Executive /Constituent Assistant to the City of Hamilton Councillor for Dundas. Her community involvement includes serving as a board member of the Dundas Business Improvement Area and as a member of both the Governance Review Sub-Committee and the Municipal Drainage Court of Revision.

Patricia Greig is Deputy Mayor of the Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula. She is also a former Librarian with the London Board of Education. Ms. Greig's community involvement includes serving as a policy coordinator with the Peninsula Action Committee for Education, and as Chair of the Bruce Presbytery/United Church of Canada Board of Directors. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Master of Library and Information Science degree from the University of Western Ontario, and a Bachelor of Library Science degree from the University of British Columbia.

Johanna Downey was elected to Peel Regional Council in 2014. Johanna is self-employed as a freelance design consultant and is co-owner of Stone House Masonry. She serves her community through the following boards and committees: Credit Valley Conservation; Caledon Community Service; Peel Region Growth Management; Heritage Caledon; Peel Internet Safety; Peel Housing; and Cheltenham Badlands Management Team.

Janet Horner is the Executive Director of the Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance and Greater Toronto Area Agricultural Action Committee, a Consultant with Whitfield Consultants, a leadership, fundraising, communications firm, as well as a Councillor, with the Township of Mulmur. Mrs. Horner's community involvement includes serving as a founding board member and Chair of the Rural Ontario Institute, a steering committee member and board chair of Sustain Ontario and member of Headwaters Food and Farming Alliance and Toronto Food Policy Council. She holds a Bachelor of Applied Sciences from the University of Guelph.

-, -